Afghanistan A in South Africa 2017 July 17, 2017

Afghanistan A replace Australia A in tri-series

ESPNcricinfo staff

Afghanistan fans will see their A team tour South Africa for the first time © Peter Della Penna

Afghanistan A will join South Africa A and India A to play a seven-match, 50-over tri-series starting on July 26 in Pretoria.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) had extended an invitation to the Afghanistan Cricket Board after they were informed that Australia A, who were originally scheduled to participate in the tri-series, pulled out over a long-standing pay dispute with their board.

"We are very pleased to accept Cricket South Africa's invitation to participate in the upcoming triangular series," Afghanistan Cricket Board's chief executive Shafiqullah Stanikzai said. "This will be our first-ever visit to South Africa and I am certain that this will give Afghanistan A team very good exposure to competitive cricket."

This came on the back of Afghanistan securing Test status at the culmination of the ICC board meetings in June and CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat congratulated them on their rapid rise. Afghanistan also made their debut at Lord's last week against MCC, but persistent rain led to play being called off midway.

"Afghanistan were deservedly granted Full Member status at the ICC annual conference last month after showing impressive growth in recent years," Lorgat said

The ACB tweeted their squad for the tour and it features 11 men who have already played international cricket including the likes of openers Usman Ghani and Javed Ahmadi, middle-order batsman Najibullah Zadran and wicketkeeper Afsar Zazai.

Ihsan Janat, Younas Ahmadzai, Nawaz Khan, Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai are the only uncapped players in the 15-member squad.

Afghanistan A: Usman Ghani, , Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Younas Ahmadzai, Nasir Jamal, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiqullah, Afsar Zazai (wk), Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Yamin Ahmadzai, Fareed Ahmad, Ihsan Janat, Younas Ahmadzai, Nawaz Khan, Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Syed on July 19, 2017, 6:24 GMT

    This week South Africa beat India by 340 Runs. Just add one more run and you will get 341. This is the margin with which Pakistan beat India at Karachi in 2006. Pakistan were three wickets down for Zero runs and were 39-6 and still won by 341 runs. No wonder why these two countries don't play test matches against each other.

  • Cricinfouser on July 19, 2017, 2:57 GMT

    Not a good selection of the Afghan a team Zahir Khan is a great chinaman spinner Rashid Khan should have been here too unless he is playing in CPL league.

  • Cricinfouser on July 18, 2017, 16:46 GMT

    Afghanistan team fans started talking like Bangladesh fans , do not make enemies very early your team not achieved anything big yet on big stage

  • Mallesha on July 18, 2017, 11:14 GMT

    @Saifullah Anurag Thakur when he was BCCI president raised the same concern of ICC keeps Ind and Pak in same group for Tournaments ? it's ICC ploy to make big ticket match atleast once in tournaments and make more revenue. BCCI or Ind don't really want to play Pak in group stage also. Check old articles on this subject.

  • abutle1030100 on July 18, 2017, 11:08 GMT

    @SOHEL & IQBAL05480600: It is great to welcome the Afghan team to the test fraternity. If however the Afghan fans are going to start sounding like some annoying Bangladeshi & Indian fans however, it could get damn annoying. Ardour & positivity is one thing - vacuous comments another.

  • Adrian on July 18, 2017, 10:40 GMT

    If England cancel the Ashes against Australia, will they play test series against Afghanistan or Ireland?

  • Karthikeyan on July 18, 2017, 10:32 GMT

    The Ind A team has now won a record 4 consecutive 50-over titles ( in 2013 (held in SA), 2014 (held in Aus), 2015 (held in Ind), & in 2016 (held in Aus) ); playing with the formidable second-string teams of Aus A, & SA A, mostly outside Ind !! Ind A can now coin a name all of its own, for this feat, something like the "Serena Slam," or say, a "4-peat !" For Ind A, the Afg A team would be a walk-over, & only SA A provide any threat to Ind A, in defense of their 5th consecutive title this year. If Aus A could not win the title from Ind A in 4 years of trying, it is better they sit out this one, no matter what excuse they give. (pay dispute, bla-bla) This great Ind A team, comprising Manish Pandey (capt), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant (wk), Vijay Shankar, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jayant Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, & Siddarth Kaul, "has been there & done that" already & these would be lop-sided contests in favor of Ind A !

  • janaan0292221 on July 18, 2017, 6:48 GMT

    Why rashid and shinwari didnt include in this tour

  • Saifullah Farooqui on July 18, 2017, 5:37 GMT

    ANDY: My previous comment is for you as well .

  • Saifullah Farooqui on July 18, 2017, 5:21 GMT

    MALLESHA: Why india is playing with Pakistan in ICC events as well ???. They have got money. They have got power, they should tell ICC that we will not play with Pakistan in ICC tournaments as well. Place us in different groups .

  • No featured comments at the moment.