South Africa in Australia 2014-15 October 29, 2014

Lyon dropped, Hazlewood earns recall for SA ODIs

ESPNcricinfo staff

Spinners Nathan Lyon and Xavier Doherty have been left out while Josh Hazlewood's sizzling form in the Matador Cup has earned him a recall into Australia's 13-man squad for the first two ODIs of a five-match series against South Africa beginning November 14.

Wicketkeeper Brad Haddin has been rested for the series and Matthew Wade will take the gloves in his place. Michael Clarke, Shane Watson and Mitchell Marsh have been picked to make their return to the ODI line-up against South Africa after all three were forced to withdraw from the ODI series against Pakistan due to injury.

Both Lyon and Doherty were part of Australia's ODI squad against Pakistan in the UAE but have been left out in favor of Hazlewood and Nathan Coulter-Nile as part of a pace-heavy unit tailored to home conditions for the first two matches of the series in Perth.

"We are continuing to keep a close eye on players we feel could have a significant role to play in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup and many of these players have been rewarded with selection in this initial squad to face South Africa," said Rod Marsh, chairman of Australia's national selection panel. "At this stage, the squad is only for the first two matches of the series and balances out player preparation for long and short form cricket as we build into a big summer. This squad caters for the WACA's renowned fast and bouncy surface with six pace bowling options."

Hazlewood, 23, played the last of his two ODIs in September 2013 against England at Edgbaston but has been rewarded for his strong showing in Australia's recently completed domestic one-day tournament where he was the second-highest wicket-taker, along with Coulter-Nile. Hazlewood's performances included a New South Wales record haul of 7 for 36 against South Australia. Coulter-Nile has returned after recovering from surgery on his left hamstring in June that caused him to miss Australia's tour of Zimbabwe in August.

Both Hazlewood and Coulter-Nile were kept out of Australia's T20 squad for the three-match series which precedes the ODIs in a move that national selector Mark Waugh said was designed at managing workloads throughout the summer leading into the World Cup. In addition to Lyon and Doherty, Sean Abbott has also been dropped after making his ODI debut in the UAE, where he claimed 1 for 25 in the first ODI against Pakistan.

According to Cricket Australia, Mitchell Starc and James Faulkner were omitted from the squad, despite being part of Australia's ODI touring unit in the UAE, to give them playing opportunities in the Sheffield Shield ahead of Australia's first Test of the summer in December against India.

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Shane Watson