Sri Lanka in Australia 2012-13 January 2, 2013

Ajantha Mendis returns for limited-overs series

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sri Lanka have picked Kushal Perera, the wicketkeeper-batsman, for the limited-overs series in Australia, and spinner Ajantha Mendis makes a comeback after suffering a side strain during the World Twenty20 late last year. Mendis hasn't played ODI cricket since January last year.

Perera replaces Kumar Sangakkara, who was ruled out of the tour last month due to a hand injury. Perera has had a good run in the Premier Limited Over Tournament, the List A competition in Sri Lanka; he's the leading run-scorer, with 365 runs in eight games at 73, including a century and two fifties.

Two names missing from the limited-overs squad that played New Zealand in November are allrounder Chamara Kapugedera and offspinner Tharindu Kaushal. Suranga Lakmal, who has been called in as replacement for Chanaka Welegedera in the squad for the third Test in Sydney, has been selected for the limited-overs series. Sri Lanka play five ODIs and two T20 internationals; the first ODI starts on January 11 in Melbourne.

Squad: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Angelo Mathews, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Kushal Perera, Shaminda Eranga.