Len Johnson      

Full name Leonard Joseph Johnson

Born March 18, 1919, Ipswich, Queensland

Died April 20, 1977, Silkstone, Queensland (aged 58 years 33 days)

Major teams Australia, Queensland

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm fast-medium

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
Tests 1 1 1 25 25* - 51 49.01 0 0 1 0 2 0
First-class 56 87 19 1139 75 16.75 0 3 35 0
Bowling averages
Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
Tests 1 2 282 74 6 3/8 6/74 12.33 1.57 47.0 0 0 0
First-class 56 14408 5052 218 7/43 23.17 2.10 66.0 16 1
Career statistics
Only Test Australia v India at Melbourne, Feb 6-10, 1948 scorecard
Test statistics
First-class span 1946/47 - 1952/53
Profile

A Queensland stalwart of the post-war years, Joseph Leonard `Len' Johnson, died in Ipswich on April 20. Born in 1919, he first attracted attention in the so-called Sheffield Shield competition for Australian troops at Bougainville, in the Solomons, at the end of the war. Norm McMahon, treasurer of the present Australian touring team, also played there. Len Johnson was a fast-medium right-arm bowler and strong hitter in the lower order. His eventual tally of 171 wickets in 43 Shield matches for Queensland was a State record until overtaken by Ross Duncan and Peter Allan. He toured New Zealand with an Australian `Second XI' in 1950, but was destined to play for his country only once: against India at Melbourne in the final Test of the 1947-48 series. He scored 25 not out and took 3 for 66 and 3 for 8, and was entitled to feel a trifle hard done by to have received only that one cap. It is thought that Sam Loxton won preference over him in selection for the 1948 tour of England.
The Cricketer

Country Fixtures Country Results
TBA v Australians at North Sound
May 27-29, 2015 (10:21 EDT | 09:21 CDT | 07:21 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Australia at Roseau
Jun 3-7, 2015 (10:21 EDT | 09:21 CDT | 07:21 PDT)
2nd Test: West Indies v Australia at Kingston
Jun 11-15, 2015 (11:21 EDT | 10:21 CDT | 08:21 PDT)
Kent v Australians at Canterbury
Jun 25-28, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Essex v Australians at Chelmsford
Jul 1-4, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days