December 27, 2002

Warriors name teams to play Bulls

THE Western Australian Cricket Association today announced teams for ING Cup and Pura Cup matches against Queensland next month.

The Western Warriors will play the Bulls in a day-night limited-overs game on Thursday, January 2, 2003 and a four-day clash starting on January 4, 2003.

The teams are:

ING Cup team: Mike Hussey (Captain), Ryan Campbell (vice-captain), Jo Angel, Murray Goodwin, Kade Harvey, Brad Hogg, Stuart Karppinen, Shaun Marsh, Scott Meuleman, Chris Rogers, Brad Williams and Paul Wilson.

Pura Cup team: Jo Angel (Captain), Murray Goodwin (v-captain), Beau Casson, Michael Clark, Kade Harvey, Scott Meuleman, Matthew Nicholson, Marcus North, Chris Rogers, Luke Ronchi, Adam Voges and Paul Wilson.

Batsman Shaun Marsh and all-rounder Stuart Karppinen return to the one-day team after recovery from injury, while pace bowler Matthew Nicholson and batsman Marcus North return to the Pura Cup team.

Australia `A' representatives Michael Hussey, Ryan Campbell, Brad Hogg and Brad Williams will play in the ING Cup match after playing in the New Year's Day limited-overs day-night game against Sri Lanka in Melbourne.

They will travel back to Perth early on January 2, for the match. Australia `A' plays another one-day game against Sri Lanka, in Adelaide on January 6, which prompted several changes to the Warriors Pura Cup side to meet the Bulls.