June 4, 2002

Bulls contract list confirmed

The XXXX Queensland Bulls will follow a proven formula with the release of their contracted player list for the 2002-2003 season.

Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Graham Dixon today announced the Bulls' squad for the coming season that contains six ACB contracted players, 17 State contracted players and three Rookie contracted players.

Dixon said Queensland did not intend to add to the list prior to the start of the season after reaching agreements with all of the nominated players.

"As we saw last season, the option is there to add players during the summer depending on representative selections and injuries,' he said. "The selectors are confident the players they have nominated will provide the Bulls with the depth to enjoy another successful season.'

The squad contains the likes of opening batsman Daniel Payne, left-arm pace bowler Scott Brant and right-arm pace bowler Damien MacKenzie, each of whom made their first class debuts last season from outside the squad. Payne and Brant were both members of the Bulls team that won the State's third consecutive Pura Cup title.

The only player on the State contracted list yet to play first class cricket is former Australian Under-19 wicket-keeper Chris Hartley who is in his second year in the Bulls squad.

Former Australian pace bowler Scott Muller and off-spinner Scott O'Leary were not awarded contracts.

Muller, who played two Tests in 1999-2000, has experienced a wretched run with injury over the past two seasons while O'Leary, who played seven matches in 2000-2001, saw Australian one-day spinner Nathan Hauritz and left-armer spinner Matthew Anderson preferred ahead of him last season.

Australian Under-19 batsman Craig Philipson enters his second season on a rookie contract with the other rookie contracts awarded to Wynnum-Manly opener Chris Simpson, a Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy scholar this year, and Wests pace bowler Steve Magoffin.

The trio will have an early indication of their future prospects when they play for Queensland in this weekend's series of practice matches against Australia and Pakistan, which are training in Brisbane this week as part of their build-up to the three-match TOWER Super Challenge II series in Melbourne and at the Gabba. Queensland are scheduled to play Pakistan on Saturday and Australia on Sunday at Allan Border Field in 40-over practice games.

All States have until Friday to register their initial playing list for the 2002-2003 season with the ACB.

States must register between 14 and 20 State Player contracts and between two and five Rookie contracts. States have the option to add another two Player contracts and two Rookie contracts to their list by September 28.

The XXXX Queensland Bulls 2002-2003 squad is: ACB contracted players: Matthew Hayden, Andy Bichel, Martin Love, Jimmy Maher, Nathan Hauritz, Andrew Symonds. State contracted players: Stuart Law, Wade Seccombe, Michael Kasprowicz, Ashley Noffke, Matthew Anderson, Lee Carseldine, Jerry Cassell, Adam Dale, Joe Dawes, Chris Hartley, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brendan Nash, Clinton Perren, Damien MacKenzie, Daniel Payne, Scott Brant. Rookie contracted players: Craig Philipson, Chris Simpson, Steve Magoffin.