October 2, 2002

WA announces ACB Cup team with an eye to the future

Western Australian cricket selectors today announced an Australian Cricket Board Cup Second XI with a distinct view to the state's future.

The team will be captained by experienced Western Warriors all-rounder Stuart Karppinen.

With a clear indication of a youth policy within the Second XI round-robin interstate competition, the selectors have banked heavily on emerging young players from the Warriors squad.

Australian Under-19 World Cup 2002 team winning team member Shaun Marsh has been named vice-captain.

Subiaco-Floreat top order specialist Brett Jones replaces injured opener Scott Meuleman.

The team, to play South Australia in a four-day match at Tompkins Park starting on Monday, is:

Stuart Karppinen (Captain), Shaun Marsh (vice-captain), Beau Casson, Michael Clark, Geoff Cullen, Andrew James, Brett Jones, Luke Ronchi, Craig Simmons, Michael Thistle, Callum Thorp, and Adam Voges.

The team will be coached by Western Warriors assistant-coach Noel Knight.