June 30, 2003

Duval and Cameron win rookie contracts in Adelaide

Two additions have been made today to the South Australia squad for 2003-04 that was announced earlier this month.

Outstanding grade performances by Northern Districts fast bowler Chris Duval and batting allrounder Ben Cameron from Tea Tree Gully have seen them awarded rookie contracts for the next summer. They will join two other rookies, Callum Ferguson and Trent Kelly, and the 15 senior-contracted players in new State coach Wayne Phillips' squad.

Duval, 19, made his mark in the A-grade competition last summer by taking 31 wickets at 19.74. He was included in this year's Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy intake and is in his second six-week session with the Academy at the moment.

Cameron, 22, won the Hargrave Trophy last season for being judged the best A-grade player under 23. He averaged 51.80 with the bat, including a highest score of 109 not out, and with his medium-pace bowling he took 18 wickets at 17.06.

South Australia Cricket Association general manager of cricket operations Harvey Jolly said the selection of Duval and Cameron showed there were still opportunities available for grade cricketers in South Australia.

"Chris and Ben have been playing in the grade cricket competition for a number of years and both have risen up through the various grade levels. Their selection into the Redbacks squad shows how the grade cricket system acts as a springboard into the State team for those players who have the talent and perform," he said.

The Redbacks squad for 2003-04 is: Greg Blewett, Ryan Harris, Ben Cameron (rookie contract), Mark Higgs, Mark Cleary, Ben Johnson, Mark Cosgrove, Darren Lehmann (ACB contract), Chris Davies, Graham Manou, John Davison, Mick Miller, Shane Deitz, Paul Rofe, Chris Duval (rookie contract), Shaun Tait, David Fitzgerald, Callum Ferguson (rookie contract), Andy Flower, Trent Kelly (rookie contract), Jason Gillespie (ACB contract).