March 24, 2003

Mason wins Olley Cooley Medal

Shaun Taylor

Bayswater-Morley captain Chris Mason capped a stellar season when he was crowned the WACA Pennant Competition's Olley Cooley Medallist.

In West Australian cricket's 'Brownlow Medal' equivalent, Mason was named the fairest and best player in Perth's premier cricket competition.

Mason streaked clear of the field with 23 votes, well ahead of his nearest rival, Midland-Guildford's Peter Worthington with 18.

Mason was the league's most damaging all-rounder. He made 656 runs at the excellent average of 54.67 (fourth best in the league) with two centuries and four fifties.

He claimed 31 wickets at the sterling average of 12 (third best in the league) with best figures of 5-7.

The 27-year-old's Bayswater team was unbeaten during the first half of the season thanks to his match-winning form.

He polled votes in nine out of 15 rounds and secured top votes on six occasions. Voting is done on a 3-2-1 basis.

Western Warriors' squad member Worthington earnt a first-class debut on the basis of his excellent form.

He was second in the batting averages with 686 runs at an average of 57.16. He took 27 wickets at 23.03 with a best effort of 6-53.

Subiaco-Floreat's Steven Glew polled 13 votes and was the competition leading run-scorer with 883 runs at 55.19, including two centuries and five scores over 50.

Joe Barnes, from Claremont-Nedlands, took the most wickets with 54 at 15.87 apiece. He polled 13 votes.

Leader Board:
23 Chris Mason - Bayswater-Morley
18 Peter Worthington - Midland-Guildford
15 Dimitri Mascarenhas - Melville
15 Callum Thorp - Wanneroo
14 Steven Glew - Subiaco-Floreat
13 Joe Barnes - Claremont-Nedlands
13 Darren Maddy - Perth
13 Sam Howman - Subiaco-Floreat

Olley Cooley was a senior WACA umpire in the post-war period. He umpired in 49 first class matches and was regarded by former Australian Test captain Richie Benaud as the best umpire WA ever produced.

Bayswater-Morley's Brett Johnson, with 19 votes, won the J.P. Robbins Medal for fairest and best in second grade.

Paul McKenzie, with 14 votes from South Perth, won the Albert Richings Medal for best and fairest in third grade.

Richard Catlin (15 votes) from Subiaco-Floreat won the Allan Mackley Medal for fairest and best in fourth grade.