Australian women in Sri Lanka

Poulton leads young Australia

July 21, 2004

Text size: A | A

Kate Blackwell: vice-captain in Sri Lanka © Getty Images
Cricket Australia today announced its touring squad for the Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars tour of Sri Lanka in September.

The 13-player squad - which is made up of Australia's best Under-23 women cricketers - will travel to Colombo on August 29 where they will play the senior Sri Lankan women's team in a three-day match and four limited-overs games. The tour will provide the side with vital exposure to the conditions of the sub-continent whilst Sri Lanka will use the matches in preparation for next year's Women's World Cup in Pretoria, South Africa.

The side will be captained by 20-year old New South Wales batter, Leah Poulton with 21-year old Kate Blackwell, also from New South Wales, vice-captain. Included in the squad for the first time are Victorian pair Sarah Edwards and Julie Hunter, Queenslander Laura Bates and Laura Wright from New South Wales.

"This tour will provide some of our emerging players with the opportunity to gain valuable experience at an international level," said Margaret Jennings, the head of the selectors. "Sri Lanka will provide tough opposition as they will be using the matches to fine-tune for next year's World Cup, but it will be a good chance to see how our players handle themselves under these circumstances."

Squad Leah Poulton (capt), Kate Blackwell, Sarah Andrews, Kelly Applebee, Sarah Aley, Laura Bates, Sarah Edwards, Julie Hunter, Kirsten Pike, Jodie Purves, Lauren Stammers, Laura Wright, Julie Woerner.

August 1-3 Three-day match (Colombo)
August 6 Limited-overs match (Colombo)
August 8 Limited-overs match (Colombo)
August 10 Limited-overs match (Colombo)
August 12 Limited-overs match (Colombo)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
Syd Thunder v Heat at Sydney - Dec 21
Syd Thunder 208/1 Heat 147/7 (15.5/20 ov)
Scorchers v Strikers at Perth
Dec 22, 2014 (16:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Hurricanes v Syd Sixers at Hobart
Dec 23, 2014 (19:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
3rd Test: Australia v India at Melbourne
Dec 26-30, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Scorchers v Melb Reneg at Perth
Dec 26, 2014 (16:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days