Three rookies named

South Australia announce squad for 2004-05

June 7, 2004

Text size: A | A

Mark Cosgrove: South Australia's highest first-class run-scorer in 2003-04 has re-signed for another year © Getty Images
South Australia have announced their squad for the 2004-05 season, and it includes three of the most promising players from grade cricket. Jack Smith and Dan Cullen (both Adelaide) and Matthew Weeks (Port Adelaide) have been offered senior contracts for the summer.

Smith, a right-hand batsman who captained the Adelaide Buffalos to the A-grade premiership earlier this year, scored 739 runs at 49.27 during 2003-04. He is not only an outstanding batsman but has been identified for his exceptional leadership qualities.

Cullen, a 20-year-old offspinner, had an impressive year, taking 41 wickets at 20.98 for Adelaide and contributing 17 wickets at 29.82 in five Cricket Australia Cup matches for South Australia.

Weeks, a talented 21-year-old allrounder from Port Adelaide, enjoyed a successful season which saw him poll 24 votes in the tightly contested 2004 Bradman Medal - only four behind the winner Shane Deitz. Weeks made 572 runs at an average of 44 in his 11 A-grade matches for Port, and took 24 wickets with his fast-medium bowling.

The SACA's general manager, Harvey Jolly, said all three players have an appetite for success. "These three young players all have strived to be recognised by producing outstanding performances at grade level and have been rewarded with a state contract as a result," he said. "We look forward to seeing them replicate their success at state level next season."

South Australia's highest first-class runscorer in 2003-04, 19-year-old Mark Cosgrove, has also signed for another year. Cosgrove made 639 runs at 45.64 last season.

Rookie contracts have been awarded to 2003-04 rookie and fast-medium bowler Chris Duval, the Sturt legspinner Cullen Bailey and Shannon Hurn, an up-and-coming 16-year-old batsman from Northern Districts.

South Australia squad Greg Blewett, Ben Cameron, Mark Cleary, Daniel Cullen, Mark Cosgrove, John Davison, Shane Deitz, Jason Gillespie, Callum Ferguson, Andy Flower, Ryan Harris, Mark Higgs, Trent Kelly, Darren Lehmann, Graham Manou, Mick Miller, Paul Rofe, Jack Smith, Shaun Tait, Matthew Weeks.

Rookies: Chris Duval, Cullen Bailey, Shannon Hurn.

© South Australian Cricket Association

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Teams: Australia
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Test: Australia v India at Melbourne - Dec 26-30
Australia 530 India 261/3
Heat v Melb Stars at Brisbane
Dec 28, 2014 (18:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Syd Sixers v Scorchers at Sydney
Dec 29, 2014 (19:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Melb Reneg v Syd Thunder at Melbourne (Docklands)
Dec 30, 2014 (19:10 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Strikers v Hurricanes at Adelaide
Dec 31, 2014 (18:40 local | 08:10 GMT | 03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days