Commonwealth Bank supports five-team competition October 28, 2004

Women's national league gains first sponsor

Cricinfo staff

Australia's women's national cricket league starts on Saturday and a sponsor will back the five-team tournament for the first time.

The domestic competition has been renamed the Commonwealth Bank Women's National Cricket League (CBWNCL) for the next three years and Belinda Clark, the Australia and Victoria Spirit captain, welcomed the announcement. "From a player's perspective it gives the competition a real boost to know we have the support of a commercial partner willing to back the tournament," Clark said.

The CBWNCL begins with the New South Wales Breakers, the defending champions, hosting the Western Fury at Raby Oval on Saturday and at North Sydney Oval in match two on Sunday. The games mark the coaching debut of the former Australia fast bowler Paul Wilson, who links up with the new captain Avril Fahey in a revamped Western Fury.

Each team plays each other in two limited-over matches, with the side finishing at the top of the table after the preliminary rounds earning the right to host the final.

Commonwealth Bank also sponsors the Australia women's team, the Australia Under-23 team, the under-17 and under-19 championships and the Centre of Excellence for Australia's elite players, coaches and administrators.