National panel loses member of seven years April 13, 2005

Border resigns as Australia selector

Cricinfo staff

Allan Border has stopped waving Australia's selection flag © Reuters

Allan Border, an Australia selector since 1998, has resigned from the national panel to spend more time at home. Border leaves the four-man committee, which has helped Australia reach and maintain the No. 1 rankings in both Tests and ODIs, to pursue other interests.

"Although I am still enjoying the involvement, the role of selector is a big-time commitment that takes you away from home on a regular basis," Border, who is also a television commentator, said. "At this stage of my life I'm looking to do other things."

During his seven-year term Border was part of the decision-making process to sack Steve Waugh as one-day captain and push Mark Waugh into retirement. The most recent contentious choice was to end Darren Lehmann's limited-overs career and drop him for the final Test against Pakistan at Sydney in January.

Border said the job had been rewarding, especially when a tough selection had come off. "I've thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity of being involved with Australian teams over the past few years, witnessing the success that both the Test and one-day teams have achieved," he said.

Alongside fellow Queenslander Trevor Hohns, the chairman, Border has faced suggestions of a Bulls bias from the southern centres, particularly after the Test selections of Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds and Nathan Hauritz. A replacement for the panel, which also includes David Boon and Andrew Hilditch, will be decided once nominations have arrived from the six states. New South Wales called for Mark Waugh to be added, but he rejected the offer, while Ray Bright, the former Victoria spinner, has expressed his interest.

Hohns said Border had been an invaluable member of the panel. "His wealth of experience and sound judgment have been vital over time when it's come to making tough calls at the selection table," he said. Border, who retired from Test cricket in 1994 after scoring 11,174 runs in 156 matches, will remain a director of Queensland Cricket and Cricket Australia.