Pura Cup 2004-05 January 24, 2005

Packman chases Pura Cup debut for Blues

Cricinfo staff

Brad Haddin will head back for New South Wales duty after stints with Australia and Australia A © Getty Images

The new-look New South Wales side has added another fresh face with James Packman included in the Pura Cup squad for the match against Queensland at Bankstown Oval starting on Friday. The Blues, who had to find replacements this season for Steve and Mark Waugh and Michael Bevan, have already picked Ed Cowan for his debut and are now looking at Packman.

Packman, the Gordon batsman, has played two ING Cup matches for New South Wales this season, scoring 33 and 2, and replaces the offspinner Jason Krejza. Brad Haddin's busy summer continues as he returns from Australia duty to captain the side.

The Queensland selectors named the same 12-man squad that defeated Tasmania in Hobart last week for the top-of-the-table clash. The Bulls sit on 28 points and hold a slender two-point advantage over New South Wales.

Queensland Jimmy Maher (capt), Brendan Nash, Martin Love, Clinton Perren, Craig Philipson, James Hopes, Wade Seccombe (wk), Andy Bichel, Ashley Noffke, Nathan Hauritz, Joe Dawes, Ryan Le Loux.

New South Wales Brad Haddin (capt, wk), Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Ed Cowan, Phil Jaques, Stuart MacGill, Greg Mail, Matthew Nicholson, James Packman, Matthew Phelps, Dominic Thornely.