2005 Allan Border Medal January 31, 2005

Marsh and Hill in Hall of Fame

Cricinfo staff

Clem Hill: Hall of Famer © The Cricketer
The former Test greats Rod Marsh and Clem Hill will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame at the 2005 Allan Border Medal tonight.

Marsh, who played 96 Tests between 1970-71 and 1983-84, said how fortunate he felt to have played alongside the other greats of his era who have already made it to the Hall of Fame - Ian and Greg Chappell, and Dennis Lillee.

"I consider myself very lucky to have played the game at that level and to still be involved in it," Marsh told AAP. "I don't ever think of what other people think I've done, I just feel very fortunate to be a part of it and very humble of course to be alongside those guys." Marsh, an England selector and coach of their National Academy, has flown to Melbourne to receive the award.

Hill, a left-hander from South Australia, was a pillar of the Australian side before the First World War. He made his debut in 1896, and finished with 3412 runs in 49 Tests. He scored seven centuries - and also had successive Test innings of 99, 98 and 97.

He died in 1945, aged 68, and his great-nephew Geoff Hill will collect his award. "I think all of the family feels very honoured," he said. "It's a great award."

Hall of Fame honour roll

1996 Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O'Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall, Dennis Lillee.

2000 Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey, Allan Border.

2001 Bill Woodfull, Arthur Morris.

2002 Stan McCabe, Greg Chappell.

2003 Lindsay Hassett, Ian Chappell.

2004 Hugh Trumble, Alan Davidson.

2005 Clem Hill, Rod Marsh.