Pura Cup 2005-06 November 14, 2005

Hodge promotion keeps Mash in Victoria's mix

Cricinfo staff

Brad Hodge will be with Australia at Bellerive while Victoria face Queensland in Brisbane © Getty Images

Lloyd Mash, the opener who made his first-class debut against West Indies on Friday, has replaced Brad Hodge and will play his first Pura Cup match against Queensland starting on Friday. Mash collected 44 against West Indies, hit four sixes in an over during a hastily-arranged Twenty20 match with the tourists, and is the only change to the side that sits on top of the table with New South Wales.

Greg Shipperd, the Victoria coach, expected the Bulls to provide a stern test for his side after their perfect start to the domestic interstate summer. "We have had two very good away wins in Perth and Hobart and we're confident that if we can execute our game plan we can come away from Brisbane with another good result," he said.

The fast man Shane Harwood missed the tour match with a back injury but returns to the squad and the bowling attack will be chosen from Mick Lewis, Gerard Denton and Allan Wise. Hodge is tipped to make his Test debut against West Indies in Hobart on Thursday.

New South Wales will consider a Pura Cup debut for Stephen O'Keefe after he was named in the 12-man squad to play Tasmania at the SCG beginning on Friday. O'Keefe, a 20-year-old allrounder, has taken 12 wickets at 17.25 with his left-arm orthodox spin in Sydney grade games this season.

Brad Haddin, who is recovering from a finger injury, faces a fitness test later this week but has also been picked in the initial squad. Simon Katich will lead the team after he was dropped from the Test side last week.

Victoria squad Jason Arnberger, Michael Klinger, Nick Jewell, Lloyd Mash, David Hussey, Cameron White (capt), Jon Moss, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Shane Harwood, Mick Lewis, Gerard Denton, Allan Wise.

New South Wales squad Phil Jaques, Greg Mail, Simon Katich (capt), Matthew Phelps, Dominic Thornely, Aaron O'Brien, Brad Haddin (wk), Grant Lambert, Stephen O'Keefe, Matthew Nicholson, Stuart Clark, Doug Bollinger.