Pura Cup 2005-06 November 23, 2005

Fit Bevan replaces miserable Cox

Cricinfo staff

Michael Bevan has recovered from knee surgery that delayed his start to the season © Getty Images

Michael Bevan will play for Tasmania for the first time since off-season knee surgery after replacing the badly out of form opener Jamie Cox in their Pura Cup side. Bevan, who posted domestic records with his 1464 runs and eight centuries last summer, will be a welcome addition to the team, which currently has only two points, for the match against the last-placed Western Australia in Perth starting on Sunday.

Cox, a 36-year-old who has played 161 first-class matches, has scored only 60 runs in six innings but has not decided to retire mid-season. "I have been disappointed with my early season form but I remain available for selection," he said. Darren McNees has also been added to the squad after collecting 3 for 50 from 20 overs in the Second XI match against the ACT this week.

The allrounders James Hopes and Lachlan Stevens have recovered from shoulder and ankle injuries to make the squad for Queensland's Pura Cup match against the leaders New South Wales at the SCG from Saturday. Hopes, who is in line for a place in Australia's Chappell-Hadlee Series squad, hurt his shoulder during an ING Cup match against South Australia on November 4 and replaces Brendan Nash, while Stevens, a left-arm spinner, comes in for Ryan Broad.

Michael Kasprowicz, who took an Australian domestic competition career-best 8 for 44 against Victoria on Monday, needs only two victims to register 400 Pura Cup-Sheffield Shield wickets for Queensland. New South Wales will be boosted by the return of the out-of-favour Michael Clarke.

Tasmania squad Michael Di Venuto (capt), David Dawson, Michael Bevan, Travis Birt, George Bailey, Adam Polkinghorne, Sean Clingeleffer (wk), Adam Griffith, Scott Kremerskothen, Ben Hilfenhaus, Darren McNees, Shannon Tubb.

Queensland squad Jimmy Maher (capt), Lachlan Stevens, Martin Love, Clinton Perren, Craig Philipson, James Hopes, Chris Hartley, Chris Simpson, Ashley Noffke, Andy Bichel, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Kasprowicz.