ING Cup, 2005-06 January 27, 2006

Victoria aim for ING Cup final without Warne

Cricinfo staff

Greg Blewett is back for the Redbacks © Getty Images

Shane Warne delayed his return to Victoria as the Bushrangers named an unchanged side to face South Australia in the ING Cup match at Adelaide on Sunday. Warne is recovering from a hectic Test series and is expected to delay his comeback until the Pura Cup match against the Redbacks starting next Thursday.

South Australia, who easily beat Western Australia on Wednesday, have also received a blow with Matthew Elliott ruled out after aggravating a knee injury. His place has been taken by Greg Blewett, who has recovered from a thigh problem.

A Victorian win would seal them a place in the final, but South Australia sit only three points behind the Bushrangers in third. Cameron White shared in a domestic record fourth-wicket stand of 205 with David Hussey against Queensland on Wednesday, and he said he was desperate to reach the decider. "I'm happy with my one-day form and am keen to keep the runs flowing," White, who hit 85 from 87 balls, said.

In Tasmania, Brett Geeves will play his first game of the season for the Tigers after recovering from stress fractures in his left leg. Tasmania travel to Devonport for the match against Western Australia and Geeves, who picked up 6 for 48 in a 2nd XI game, replaces Brendan Drew.

Dane Anderson, who missed Wednesday's loss to New South Wales due to a shoulder injury, has been named, but he and George Bailey (neck) will undergo fitness tests. Rhett Lockyear stepped in for Anderson and is on standby for both players.

Victoria Michael Klinger, Jonathan Moss, Lloyd Mash, David Hussey, Cameron White (capt), Liam Buchanan, Grant Lindsay, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Andrew McDonald, Shane Harwood, Gerard Denton, Mick Lewis.

South Australia Shane Deitz, Mark Cosgrove, Greg Blewett, Cameron Borgas, Darren Lehmann (capt), Callum Ferguson, Ken Skewes, Graham Manou (wk), Ryan Harris, Mark Cleary, Jason Gillespie, Cullen Bailey, Shaun Tait.

Tasmania Tim Paine (wk), Travis Birt, Dane Anderson, Michael Bevan, Michael Di Venuto (capt), George Bailey, Adam Polkinghorne, Luke Butterworth, Xavier Doherty, Adam Griffith, Brett Geeves, Ben Hilfenhaus.

Western Australia Justin Langer (capt), Marcus North, Luke Ronchi (wk), Adam Voges, Shaun Marsh, Chris Rogers, Peter Worthington, Beau Casson, Steve Magoffin, Matthew Petrie, Ben Edmondson, David Bandy.