South Africa to host 12-nation event June 12, 2006

Twenty20 championship set for September 2007

Cricinfo staff

The Twenty 20 matches have clicked with the South Africa audience © Getty Images
South Africa will host the inaugural 12-nation Twenty20 World Championship between September 21 and 30 next year. The tournament will be played in three venues, which will be decided later.

Gerald Majola, Cricket South Africa's chief executive officer, confirmed the dates after a meeting with Campbell Jameson, the ICC's tournament manager, and Warren Deutron, its commercial manager.

"We have agreed that the tournament will take place in three cities but we have yet to decide where," Majola told the Rapport newspaper. "We will approach it in the same manner as we did the World Cup in 2003 in South Africa. The ICC sponsors will get preferential treatment in the stadiums where the games will be played."

South Africa embraced the Twenty20 format in the 2004-05 domestic season with the Titans emerging triumphant. The Eagles took the title the next season, and the format has been very successful in attracting spectators, with games attracting capacity crowds.

The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg hosted two Twenty20 internationals, with the home side winning both games, including a thrilling two-run win against Australia in April.