Hogg temporarily released from Australia squad January 23, 2007

Watson returns for Queensland one-dayer

Cricinfo staff

Shane Watson will make his return for Queensland ... again © Getty Images

Shane Watson will on Thursday take a small step forward in his bid to prove his fitness and regain his place in the Australia team, having been recalled to Queensland's one-day team. Watson will line up for the Bulls in their Ford Ranger Cup match against Western Australia after returning to Brisbane club cricket on the weekend.

Watson, who originally hurt his hamstring in a state game before the Ashes started and then re-injured it in a Pura Cup match in mid-December, will be keen to impress as Australia's top-order line-up remains uncertain ahead of the World Cup. He will be joined in his return by Michael Kasprowicz, who was last week set to play his first game for Queensland in 2006-07 after recovering from back and groin injuries but was a late withdrawal due to the birth of his second child.

Western Australia will regain the services of Brad Hogg, who has been temporarily released from the Australia squad for Thursday's game. Hogg, who has not played in the CB Series and faces a battle to take back his place in the national team from Cameron White, has replaced Aaron Heal in the Warriors' 12-man outfit.

The Australia selectors are keen for him get some time in the middle and he will fly to Adelaide on Friday morning in time for Australia's next match against England. Western Australia have named an unchanged squad for the Pura Cup match against Queensland at Brisbane starting on Saturday.

Queensland FR Cup squad Jimmy Maher (capt), James Hopes, Shane Watson, Craig Philipson, Clinton Perren, Aaron Nye, Michael Buchanan, Chris Simpson, Chris Hartley (wk), Andy Bichel, Ashley Noffke, Michael Kasprowicz.

Western Australia FR Cup squad Justin Langer (capt), Luke Ronchi (wk), Shaun Marsh, Marcus North, Adam Voges, Luke Pomersbach, David Bandy, Darren Wates, Brad Hogg, Brett Dorey, Ben Edmondson, Steve Magoffin.

Western Australia Pura Cup squad Justin Langer (capt), Chris Rogers, Marcus North, Adam Voges, Luke Pomersbach, David Bandy, Clint Heron, Luke Ronchi (wk), Aaron Heal, Brett Dorey, Ben Edmondson, Steve Magoffin.