New South Wales promote rookie Forrest February 26, 2007

Bulls name Nye in Pura Cup squad

Cricinfo staff

Aaron Nye is in line for his first Pura Cup game for two seasons © Getty Images

Aaron Nye's impressive form in Queensland's Ford Ranger Cup final victory has earned him a place in the Pura Cup squad for their match against New South Wales. Nye replaced Nathan Rimmington in the 12-man line-up to take on the Blues at the SCG starting on Thursday.

Nye has not played first-class cricket since 2004-05 but made the selectors take notice with a vital ten-over spell in the limited-overs final against Victoria, in which he claimed the wickets of Cameron White, David Hussey and Adam Crosthwaite. Nye, an allrounder who bowls offspin and has a Pura Cup century to his name, gives the Bulls the option of a three-man spin attack for the Sydney clash.

The Blues made four changes to their squad, promoting Peter Forrest, the rookie-contracted batsman, for what could be his first Pura Cup match. Forrest made 127 for the New South Wales Second XI last week, which was his second century in the Cricket Australia Cup this season.

Forrest and Beau Casson were included at the expense of Greg Mail and Nathan Hauritz. Stuart Clark and Brad Haddin, who were unavailable due to their World Cup preparations, were replaced by Matthew Nicholson and Daniel Smith.

Queensland sit second-last on the Pura Cup table but they are only six points shy of the Blues, who are first. Every team has two matches remaining, meaning only South Australia are out of the race for a place in the final.

Queensland squad Jimmy Maher (capt), Ryan Broad, Greg Moller, Clinton Perren, Aaron Nye, Craig Philipson, James Hopes, Chris Hartley (wk), Chris Simpson, Andy Bichel, Ashley Noffke, Daniel Doran.

New South Wales squad Ed Cowan, Phil Jaques, Simon Katich (capt), Dominic Thornely, Peter Forrest, Grant Lambert, Daniel Smith (wk), Beau Casson, Matthew Nicholson, Mark Cameron, Doug Bollinger, Stuart MacGill.