State all-star teams named March 16, 2007

Rogers judged Pura Cup's best player

Cricinfo staff

Chris Rogers was voted the best player in the Pura Cup this season © Getty Images

Chris Rogers capped off his outstanding season with the Pura Cup Player of the Series award, edging out rival openers Michael Di Venuto and Phil Jaques. It was the second major prize for Rogers within six weeks, after he was named State Player of the Year at the Allan Border Medal in February.

Rogers' 1202 runs from ten games also earned him a place in the Pura Cup All-Star Team, which was voted by the Australian Cricketers' Association. He was the competition's top run-scorer in 2006-07, averaging 70.70 and he passed fifty at all six venues throughout the season.

The team of the year was led by the New South Wales pair Simon Katich and Brad Haddin. Ben Hilfenhaus, the leading wicket-taker with 53, was in the side but managed only fifth in the Player-of-the-Year tally as batsmen were preferred over bowlers.

The Ford Ranger Cup All-Star Team featured Matthew Elliott, the Player of the Series, at the top of the order with Jimmy Maher, who was named captain. Haddin, Hilfenhaus and Brad Hodge were the only three players to make both sides.

On the same day that their coach resigned, South Australia received some consolation for their disappointing summer. The Redbacks won the Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award as the team adjudged to have conducted itself best on the field, "displaying the true spirit, traditions and values of cricket".

Melissa Bulow's 336 runs at 42 were enough to win her the WNCL Player of the Year title. Daryl Harper was named Umpire of the Year.

Pura Cup Player of the Series Chris Rogers (WA)
Ford Ranger Player of the Year Matthew Elliott (SA)
Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award South Australia
Umpire of the Year Daryl Harper
WNCL Player of the Year Melissa Bulow (Qld)

ACA Pura Cup team 1 Phil Jaques (NSW), 2 Chris Rogers (WA), 3 Brad Hodge (Vic), 4 David Hussey (Vic), 5 Simon Katich (capt, NSW), 6 Brad Haddin (vc, wk, NSW), 7 Andrew McDonald (Vic), 8 Andy Bichel (Qld), 9 Shaun Tait (SA), 10 Stuart MacGill (NSW), 11 Ben Hilfenhaus (Tas), 12 Ben Edmondson (WA).

ACA Ford Ranger Cup team 1 Matthew Elliott (SA), 2 Jimmy Maher (capt, Qld), 3 Brad Hodge (Vic), 4 Clinton Perren (Qld), 5 Adam Voges (WA), 6 Brad Haddin (vc, wk, NSW), 7 James Hopes (Qld), 8 Chris Simpson (Qld), 9 Ashley Noffke (Qld), 10 Shane Harwood (Vic), 11 Ben Hilfenhaus (Tas), 12 Michael Klinger (Vic).