Anderson and Duval upgraded June 8, 2007

Tasmania keep a settled squad

Cricinfo staff

Dane Anderson's one-day form helped him secure a promotion with the Tigers © Getty Images

Tasmania have kept the history-making squad that won the state the Pura Cup for the first time largely intact, with Andrew Downton the only player not offered a contract renewal for 2007-08. The Tigers had already lost Matthew Wade to Victoria and Michael Bevan, who retired in January.

New additions to next season's list include Tim Macdonald, the fast bowler who has moved from Western Australia, and Jason Krejza, who headed south from New South Wales midway through 2006-07. Dane Anderson and Chris Duval have had their rookie contracts upgraded to full deals.

Anderson made his Pura Cup debut last season and added seven one-day games to his tally. His best effort was a steadying 79 from 90 balls when the Tigers had stumbled early chasing Western Australia's 287 at Hobart. Duval, who had played two limited-overs matches for South Australia before switching states, made his first one-day appearance in Tasmanian colours against his former side in February.

The Tigers have also added two new rookie fast bowlers, the right-armer Jeremy Smith, 18, and the left-armer James Faulkner, 17. There might be more competition for a spot in the attack next season if Ben Hilfenhaus, who now has a Cricket Australia contract, earns more call-ups to the national side.

Downton, who will turn 30 next month, lost his place having not played for Tasmania since 2004-05, when he had surgery for a serious knee injury. His first-class career began in 1998-99 and he has managed 33 first-class matches for the Tigers, taking 102 wickets at 34.12.

Squad Dane Anderson, George Bailey, Travis Birt, Luke Butterworth, Sean Clingeleffer, David Dawson, Michael Dighton, Michael Di Venuto, Xavier Doherty, Brendan Drew, Chris Duval, Brett Geeves, Adam Griffith, Ben Hilfenhaus (Cricket Australia contract), Jason Krejza, Tim Macdonald, Daniel Marsh, Tim Paine, Ricky Ponting (CA), Damien Wright.

Rookies Alex Doolan, James Faulkner, Jason Shelton, Jeremy Smith, Jonathan Wells.