O'Brien and Gillies included

Australia name Hong Kong Sixes squad

Cricinfo staff

October 24, 2007

Text size: A | A

Aaron O'Brien is part of Australia's seven-man squad © Getty Images

Australia have chosen a squad heavy with young allrounders for the Hong Kong Sixes tournament that starts on the weekend. Aaron O'Brien is the most experienced member of the seven-man group, which features three players who have played first-class cricket.

O'Brien, a left-arm orthodox spinner and middle-order batsman, will be a key player for Australia having 20 first-class matches to his name at New South Wales. Shawn Gillies and Steve O'Keefe have also played in the Pura Cup, while Nathan Reardon, Michael Buchanan and Matt Johnston have domestic one-day experience.

Tasmania's Alex Doolan is the only member of the squad without a state game to his name. Australia's first match is against Bangladesh on Saturday. Also in their pool is South Africa and an All Stars team that features Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Brian Lara, Craig McMillan, Heath Streak, Anil Kumble and Geraint Jones.

Squad Aaron O'Brien, Michael Buchanan, Alex Doolan, Nathan Reardon, Shawn Gillies, Matt Johnston, Steve O'Keefe.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Final: Scorchers v Syd Sixers at Canberra
Jan 28, 2015 (19:40 local | 08:40 GMT | 03:40 EST | 02:40 CST | 00:40 PST)
Final: Australia v TBA at Perth
Feb 1, 2015 (11:20 local | 03:20 GMT | 22:20 EST | 21:20 CST | 19:20 PST)
Tasmania v NSW at Hobart
Feb 7-10, 2015 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Queensland v Victoria at Brisbane
Feb 7-10, 2015 (10:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
West Aust v South Aust at Perth
Feb 7-10, 2015 (10:30 local | 02:30 GMT | 21:30 EST | 20:30 CST | 18:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days