Carseldine recalled after three-year absence November 22, 2007

Injuries cut down nearly half the Queensland squad

Cricinfo staff

Lee Carseldine has not played in Queensland colours since 2003-04 © Getty Images

Queensland have been forced to recall Lee Carseldine, who has not played a state game since January 2004, for their one-day match against Victoria on Saturday as their injury crisis worsens. Of the Bulls' 25 contracted players, only 12 are available with fitness and international duties causing major problems.

The list of injuries makes worrying reading for Queensland: Michael Kasprowicz (groin), James Hopes (hamstring), Andy Bichel (finger), Ashley Noffke (hamstring), Ryan Broad (side strain), Greg Moller (hamstring), Martin Love (knee), Michael Buchanan (hand), Ben Cutting (side strain) and Nathan Rimmington (hip).

The Bulls have already used 21 players in first-class cricket this summer and 14 in the FR Cup. Carseldine, 32, could be added to that tally after regaining his form following an injury of his own - he had major back surgery and a titanium disc was inserted into his spine.

Victoria have picked a 13-man squad and they have a few injury concerns as well. Clint McKay has an ankle problem and Gerard Denton is suffering from general soreness after the Bushrangers' Pura Cup win this week and both will be assessed before a final decision is made. Shane Harwood (groin) and Peter Siddle (shoulder) could not be considered.

Andrew McDonald returns to the line-up while John Hastings, the allrounder who relocated from New South Wales during the off-season, could make his debut. Aaron Finch and Bryce McGain have been omitted.

Queensland squad Jimmy Maher (capt), Shane Watson, Clinton Perren, Craig Philipson, Aaron Nye, Nathan Reardon, Lee Carseldine, Chris Simpson, Chris Hartley (wk), Grant Sullivan, Chris Swan, Scott Brant.

Victoria squad Michael Klinger, Aiden Blizzard, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Cameron White (capt), Robert Quiney, Andrew McDonald, John Hastings, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Clint McKay, Gerard Denton, Dirk Nannes, Allan Wise.