England women in Australia, 2007-08

Australia name Ashes and ODI squad

Cricinfo staff

January 15, 2008

Text size: A | A

Australia's captain Karen Rolton and Lisa Sthalekar, the vice-captain, will hope to bring more silverware to their cabinet this summer © Getty Images

Australia have picked the tough 13-player squad they hope will be able to regain the Ashes next month, and also win the five-match ODI series. They need to win the one-off Test to take the trophy currently in England's possession, while they won the last one-day series in England.

The four-day Test will be played at Bradman Oval in Bowral to commence a year of celebration marking the 100th anniversary of Sir Donald Bradman's birth. The sides will also play a Twenty20 as a curtain raiser for the men's Twenty20 between Australia and India at the MCG on February 1.

Australia remain largely unchanged since the Rose Bowl Series in Darwin in July. Kirsten Pike, the Queensland allrounder, comes back into the squad after being unavailable against New Zealand, while Clea Smith loses her place.

"We are blessed to have so many quality cricketers playing in the Women's National Cricket League to select from at present," Chair of Selectors Margaret Jennings said. "The series against the England in February will be a fantastic experience for the team. They are really looking forward to playing a Twenty20 international at the MCG - hopefully in front of a big crowd."

Squad Alex Blackwell, Melissa Bulow, Karen Rolton (capt), Lisa Sthalekar, Kirsten Pike, Jodie Purves (wk), Kate Blackwell, Shelley Nitschke, Kris Britt, Ellyse Perry, Emma Sampson, Sarah Andrews, Sarah Edwards.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
Elimination Final: NSW v Queensland at Sydney
Oct 24, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT)
Final: Western Aust v TBA at Sydney
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT)
2nd Test: Australia v Pakistan at Abu Dhabi
Oct 30-Nov 3, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 02:00 EDT | 01:00 CDT | 23:00 PDT)
Victoria v NSW at Melbourne
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 19:30 EDT | 18:30 CDT | 16:30 PDT)
South Aust v Queensland at Adelaide
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 20:00 EDT | 19:00 CDT | 17:00 PDT)
Western Aust v Tasmania at Perth
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 02:30 GMT | 22:30 EDT | 21:30 CDT | 19:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days