Batsman named best in all three competitions April 1, 2008

Hussey dominates Victoria's state awards

Cricinfo staff

David Hussey was Victoria's best player in all three competitions in 2007-08 © Getty Images

David Hussey enjoyed a cleansweep of Victoria's state awards on Tuesday, just hours after he was chosen in Australia's ODI squad to tour the West Indies in June. It will be Hussey's first trip with the national team and it comes after a prolific season that resulted in him being named as Victoria's best player in the Pura Cup, FR Cup and KFC Twenty20.

Hussey was the state's leading run scorer in all three competitions and was an integral part in them reaching every final in 2007-08. He took home the Bill Lawry Medal as the Pura Cup Player of the Year after recording his best tally in a season, 1008 runs at 56, which was second only to Simon Katich across the country.

He added the Dean Jones Medal to his stack of prizes thanks to an FR Cup campaign that brought 484 runs at 44, including the second-fastest century in Australian domestic one-day history. The Twenty20 honour was a formality after he scored 237 runs at 47.40 and was named as the tournament's Player of the Year at last month's Australian Cricketers' Association awards.

The Ryder Medal, awarded to the best player in Melbourne's premier grade cricket competition, went to Steven Spoljaric, a Hawthorn-Monash University allrounder who has been the runner-up twice in the past three years. He beat the sometime Victoria one-day player Grant Lindsay by one vote, while Sarah Edwards was named the top women's cricketer having scored 214 runs at 30.57 in the WNCL.