Denton in line to fly back from Victoria

Clingeleffer cut from Tasmania squad

Cricinfo staff

May 22, 2008

Text size: A | A

Sean Clingeleffer is looking for another state after being left off the contract list by Tasmania © Getty Images

Sean Clingeleffer, the Tasmania wicketkeeper of the past eight years, has not been offered a contract by the state, which is also waiting for the fast bowler Adam Griffith to accept a deal. Gerard Denton is on the verge of returning to the Tigers from Victoria while Damien Wright, who had an ankle reconstruction last year, will try his luck in the second-round transfer pool.

A big part of the 2006-07 Pura Cup success - he scored a century in the final - Clingeleffer, 28, has appeared in 74 first-class games, but he was dropped after five matches last season, having scored 103 runs and accepted nine dismissals. Tim Paine was used in the remaining games and Clingeleffer, the second-most successful wicketkeeper in the state's history, will join Wright in the transfer pool.

Denton, who went to Melbourne in 2004 and has been a prolific wicket-taker for the Bushrangers when not sidelined by injuries, has been offered a deal and a Tasmania spokeswoman said the paperwork for the move was still being finalised. The Tigers want to give Griffith a contract but he is "still negotiating with his management".

Wright, 32, was out for the entire season in 2007-08 and it appears his last game with the state will be the Pura Cup final. He captured eight wickets in that match, and if he leaves it will be as Tasmania's most successful one-day bowler with 65 wickets in 55 matches.

The batsman Rhett Lockyear has been handed a full contract, his first since 2004-05, while Jeremy Smith, the Tasmania Cricket Association's Young Player of the Year, has been upgraded from rookie status. Brady Jones, a 19-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman, has been added to the rookie list.

First round contract holders Daniel Marsh, Dane Anderson, George Bailey, Travis Birt, Luke Butterworth, David Dawson, Michael Dighton, Mark Divin, Xavier Doherty, Chris Duval, Brendan Drew, Brett Geeves, Jason Krejza, Rhett Lockyear, Tim MacDonald, Tim Paine, Jeremy Smith.
Rookies Alex Doolan, James Faulkner, Wade Irvine, Brady Jones, Jonathan Wells.
Cricket Australia contract holders Ricky Ponting, Ben Hilfenhaus.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st Test: Australia v India at Brisbane
Dec 4-8, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
NSW v Queensland at Sydney
Dec 5-8, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Tasmania v South Aust at Hobart
Dec 5-8, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
West Aust v Victoria at Perth
Dec 5-8, 2014 (10:30 local | 02:30 GMT | 21:30 EST | 20:30 CST | 18:30 PST)
2nd Test: Australia v India at Adelaide
Dec 12-16, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days