Sheffield Shield 2008-09 October 8, 2008

Spinner Holland in line for Victoria debut

Cricinfo staff

Jon Holland is set to make his state debut © Garry Sparke

Jon Holland, the left-arm orthodox spinner, is preparing for his first-class debut after being named in Victoria's squad for their opening Sheffield Shield match of the season. Holland is also in line to play his first one-day match for his state as the Bushrangers enter the summer without the injured Bryce McGain and Cameron White, who is with the Test squad in India.

Holland, 21, was one of the men who performed best for the Australian Institute of Sports against Bangladesh in the warm-up games in Darwin ahead of Australia's ODI series. Greg Shipperd, the Victoria coach, said Holland deserved his opportunity.

"Jon spent his winter in Brisbane at the Centre of Excellence," Shipperd said. "His game has really come on after he played only a game or two at club level last year because of injury."

Victoria will also welcome Chris Rogers, the Test opener who has moved from Western Australia, and Damien Wright, the former Tasmania fast bowler, for both matches. One of the reasons Rogers left the Warriors was because of a lack of one-day opportunities and he will get the chance to open in Victoria's first limited-overs match of the summer.

The Bushrangers' season starts with a one-day game against South Australia in Adelaide on Sunday followed by a Sheffield Shield match at the same venue. Victoria have again got a tough choice between wicketkeepers and chose Adam Crosthwaite for the FR Cup game and Matthew Wade for the longer version.

David Hussey will captain the side in the absence of White. Darren Pattinson, the fast bowler who made a surprise Test debut for England during the Australian winter, was not available due to a groin injury.

Sheffield Shield squad Chris Rogers, Nick Jewell, Brad Hodge, David Hussey (capt), Rob Quiney, Andrew McDonald, Matthew Wade (wk), Damien Wright, Shane Harwood, Jon Holland, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes.

FR Cup squad Chris Rogers, Rob Quiney, Brad Hodge, David Hussey (capt), Aiden Blizzard, Andrew McDonald, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Damien Wright, Shane Harwood, Jon Holland, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes.