Sri Lanka Under-19 in Australia 2009-10 August 25, 2009

Six changes in Australia Under-19 squad

Cricinfo staff

Former Australian coach John Buchanan's younger son Nick Buchanan has been named in Australia's Under-19 squad to play five one-day matches against Sri Lanka in October in Darwin. Buchanan is among the six changes to the squad that played India Under-19 in April.

Tom Brinsley, Matthew Dixon, Ben Dougall, Alex Keath and Sam Whiteman are the other new faces. Mitchell Marsh, the Western Australia batsman, who captained the side against India and played for the Australian Institute of Sports in the Emerging Players Tournament, is in the squad though Cricket Australia's youth selection panel did not name a captain. Tim Armstrong and Tom Beaton, Australia's top scorers against India, have also been included. Armstrong scored 96 and took three wickets in three one-dayers.

Jackson Coleman, Joel Garrett, Adam Coyte, Josh Hazelwood, Kane Richardson, Tom Triffit, and Alister McDermott are the ones to miss out.

Greg Chappell, the Under-19 coach, the 14-man squad was picked from a prelimnary World Cup squad of 31 in order to have a closer look at some of the players. The Under-19 World Cup will be played in New Zealand from January 16 to January 31 and Australia will announce their final squad in December.

"We had a good look at a group of players in the series against India Under-19 in April and this series against Sri Lanka provides another chance to look at players ahead of the World Cup," Chappell said. "We still have a few months before the Cup and we will be keeping a close eye on players in the lead-up, but this series against Sri Lanka will be the last international series for the squad before going to New Zealand.

"The World Cup is rapidly approaching and this is a great chance for players to really put their hand up against quality international opposition."

Sri Lanka will play a tour match against Northern Territory on September 30, followed by the five one-day matches against Australia between October 2 and October 11.

Australia Under-19 squad: Sean Abbott, Tim Armstrong, Tom Beaton, Tom Brinsley, Nic Buchanan, Matthew Dixon, Luke Doran, Ben Dougall, Jason Floros, Alex Keath, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Sam Whiteman, Adam Zampa.