Australian domestic news October 9, 2009

Queensland name Hopes for Sheffield Shield

Cricinfo staff

Queensland could have two Sheffield Shield debutants for their first match of the season and they are hoping James Hopes will also be available for the four-day game against Western Australia. The batsmen Glen Batticciotto and Wade Townsend have been named in Queensland's 13-man squad for the Sheffield Shield match starting in Perth next Tuesday.

Hopes has been included but his participation depends on his recovery after arriving home from South Africa, where he was part of Australia's Champions Trophy-winning team. Hopes was originally expected to take part in Queensland's FR Cup match on Sunday but has been withdrawn from that squad.

"James is seeing the Centre of Excellence physio Kevin Sims today to see whether he is right to be considered for the four-day game,'' Queensland's coach Trevor Barsby said. "After a long campaign and a long flight, he wasn't feeling 100% about playing Sunday which would have come after another flight, so it's best for everyone to be cautious, considering Hopesy has developed into such an important part of the Australian one-day set-up."

Batticciotto, 28, will make his first-class debut after becoming a regular in Queensland's one-day side over the past two seasons. Townsend is no certainty to make the Sheffield Shield starting line-up but will make his FR Cup debut on Sunday against the Warriors.

Western Australia have chosen their squad for the one-day match with no place for Steve Magoffin, while the fast-bowling recruit from New South Wales, Michael Hogan, was named. Luke Ronchi has been restored to the wicketkeeping role after losing his spot to Michael Johnson towards the end of last summer's FR Cup.

Queensland Sheffield Shield squad Ryan Broad, Nick Kruger, Lee Carseldine, Glen Batticciotto, James Hopes, Chris Simpson (capt), Nathan Reardon, Wade Townsend, Chris Hartley (wk), Grant Sullivan, Ben Laughlin, Daniel Doran, Ben Cutting.

Queensland FR Cup squad Ryan Broad, Lee Carseldine, Nathan Reardon, Craig Philipson, Glen Batticciotto, Chris Simpson (capt), Wade Townsend, Chris Hartley (wk), Nathan Rimmington, Ben Laughlin, Ben Cutting, Daniel Doran, Alister McDermott.

Western Australia FR Cup squad Shaun Marsh, Luke Ronchi (wk), Wes Robinson, Marcus North (capt), Adam Voges, Theo Doropoulos, Marcus Stoinis, David Bandy, Ashley Noffke, Brett Dorey, Brad Knowles, Drew Porter, Michael Hogan.