Australian domestic season 2009-10 October 9, 2009

Tasmania pick wicketkeeper Jones for debut

Cricinfo staff

The wicketkeeper Brady Jones will make his first-class debut for Tasmania next week after the Tigers confirmed Tim Paine would not play the opening Sheffield Shield match of the season. Jones is one of two potential debutants for Tasmania, who have also named the uncapped batsman Wade Irvine in a 13-man squad to take on South Australia.

The team will be captained by George Bailey, who is beginning his first season as the full-time leader, and includes his predecessor Daniel Marsh. There could also be a state debut for the top-order batsman Ed Cowan, who switched from New South Wales at the end of last summer.

Paine will be rested from the four-day encounter to start on Tuesday in Adelaide, after his return from Australian duties in South Africa, but he has been named for the FR Cup game that follows. That allows Jones, 21, to slip in behind the stumps for a state flush with wicketkeeping options - Sean Clingeleffer and David Dawson have been used in recent seasons and Tom Triffitt, the Australia Under-19 gloveman, is another option.

"Jones has been fantastic up here," George Bailey said during the team's camp in Queensland earlier this month. "He fitted into the group, was vocal behind stumps, and had good energy. It's exciting for a young bloke to step in and be comfortable straight away, a really good sign."

The 12-man one-day squad also features Ben Hilfenhaus, who along with Paine will be enjoying a short stay at home before flying off to the ODI series in India. Last year's captain Marsh, 36, has not been chosen in the limited-overs team, which takes on South Australia on October 18.

Sheffield Shield squad Jonathan Wells, Ed Cowan, George Bailey (capt), Daniel Marsh, Wade Irvine, Alex Doolan, Luke Butterworth, Brady Jones (wk), Jason Krejza, Brett Geeves, Gerard Denton, Brendan Drew, Tim Macdonald.

FR Cup squad Tim Paine (wk), Ed Cowan, Michael Dighton, Travis Birt, George Bailey (capt), Luke Butterworth, James Faulkner, Jason Krejza, Brett Geeves, Xavier Doherty, Brendan Drew, Ben Hilfenhaus.