Sheffield Shield 2009-10 October 28, 2009

Wise up for Redbacks

Cricinfo staff

South Australia have called up the fast bowler Allan Wise to cover for a couple of injuries in their attack as they prepare to face Victoria in the Sheffield Shield on Friday. The Redbacks are missing Mark Cleary (back) and Chris Duval (stomach) after they were hurt in their first-up win over Tasmania.

South Australia will also be without their captain Graham Manou, who has been called into Australia's one-day side in India. The wicketkeeper Tim Ludeman, who moved from Victoria during the off-season, will make his first-class debut, and the Redbacks are yet to announce who will lead the side in place of Manou.

Victoria head to Adelaide for their opening game of the season after being knocked out of the Champions League Twenty20 in the semi-finals. David Hussey captains the Bushrangers in the absence of Cameron White, who is with the Australian side, and Nick Jewell, Chris Rogers and Lloyd Mash will make their first appearances after missing the Indian event. John Hastings is a likely starter while Shane Harwood will have to wait for Wednesday's FR Cup match against South Australia before getting a game.

The coach Greg Shipperd told the Age on Wednesday Harwood was not considered a specialist one-day player. ''Not at all,'' Shipperd said. ''We've got an open mind about all our players playing all forms of the game. He did a brilliant job to get up for the [Champions League] Twenty20 after having an operation only 4½ weeks before the competition.''

New South Wales, who won the Twenty20 tournament, begin their domestic campaign on Sunday against Western Australia. Brad Haddin's return from injury has been delayed by Sydney's weather, with New South Wales' three-day Futures League match against South Australia abandoned a day early due to a wet ground.

Victoria squad Chris Rogers, Nick Jewell, Lloyd Mash, Brad Hodge, David Hussey (capt), Andrew McDonald, Rob Quiney, Matthew Wade (wk), John Hastings, Bryce McGain, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes.

South Australia squad Daniel Harris, James Smith, Michael Klinger, Tom Cooper, Mark Cosgrove, Tim Ludeman (wk), Aaron O'Brien, Dan Christian, Allan Wise, Jake Haberfield, Peter George, Cullen Bailey.