Australian domestic news

Hartley wins top Sheffield Shield award

Cricinfo staff

March 15, 2010

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

Chris Hartley pulls on his way to a half-century, Western Australia v Queensland, Sheffield Shield, Perth, 3rd day, October 15, 2009
Chris Hartley is having a record-breaking season with the bat © Getty Images

Chris Hartley, the Queensland wicketkeeper, has been named the Sheffield Shield Player of the Year following an outstanding season with bat and gloves. Hartley accepted the award at the MCG on Monday before turning his attention to Wednesday's Shield final against Victoria.

Hartley collected 17 votes during the season to pip Damien Wright (16), the Victoria bowler, and New South Wales' Phillip Hughes (14) for the top prize. The Bulls have relied on Hartley throughout their campaign and his 774 runs are a record for a Queensland wicketkeeper in a season. He also took 41 catches to be behind only Luke Ronchi on the list of dismissals.

Victoria's Brad Hodge was the FR Cup Player of the Series while David Warner and Kieron Pollard shared the Twenty20 prize. South Australia had another trophy-free campaign on the field but they were recognised with the Benaud Spirit of Cricket honour for their hard but fair play. New South Wales collected the women's version of the award.

South Australia's Dan Christian, who made his Twenty20 international debut last month, was the Lord's Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year and Steve Davis won the Cricket Australia Umpire award. Sarah Elliott, Victoria's middle-order batsman, was the WNCL Player of the Series while Alex Blackwell, the Australia captain, was recognised for her exploits in the Twenty20 tournament. The Australian Cricketers' Association teams were also named at the function.

ACA four-day team of the year Ed Cowan (Tas), Phillip Hughes (NSW), Michael Klinger (SA), George Bailey (Tas, capt), Usman Khawaja (NSW), Steven Smith (NSW), Chris Hartley (Qld), John Hastings (Vic), Ben Cutting (Qld), Trent Copeland (NSW), Peter George (SA), David Hussey (Vic, 12th man).
ACA one-day team Michael Klinger (SA), Phil Jaques (NSW), Brad Hodge (Vic), George Bailey (Tas, capt), Lee Carseldine (Qld), Travis Birt (Tas), Matthew Wade (Vic), John Hastings (Vic), Xavier Doherty (Tas), Ben Cutting (Qld), Nathan Rimmington (Qld), Daniel Christian (SA, 12th man).
ACA Twenty20 team Shaun Marsh (WA), David Warner (NSW), Brad Hodge (Vic, capt), Tim Paine (Tas), Kieron Pollard (SA), James Hopes (Qld), Chris Simpson (Qld), Daniel Christian (SA), Aaron Heal (WA), John Hastings (Vic), Shaun Tait (SA), Brad Knowles (WA, 12th man).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by KnackersBullbarkus on (March 17, 2010, 4:20 GMT)

Me thinks that Matthew Wade of the Bushrangers might be next in line Australian keeper given his age, current form and outstanding first class average of 41+, which eclipses all other keepers in the country!!! Chris Simpson - the most overrated cricketer going around in first class ranks at the moment - batting average of about 28 & bowling average of 66. Good Work by the QLD selectors in making him skipper too!

Posted by whiskas on (March 15, 2010, 8:56 GMT)

How do the Vics have only 3 or 4 players over 3 sides?? that is insane??

Posted by redneck on (March 15, 2010, 6:10 GMT)

haddin has to start watching his back! he has plenty of good quality keepers lining up for his spot! hartley, paine, ronchi, and choc are all ready replacements! and three of them are more than capable with the bat too! also gotta love SA cricket, you tried real hard but sucked anyway so heres a trophy for trying! i hope they dont embarrass the high regard that the australian domestic comps are held by getting smashed at the champions league!!! wont have pollard or afridi either by the looks of it!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd Match, Group B: Hurricanes v Kings XI at Mohali
Sep 18, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
4th Match, Group A: Dolphins v Scorchers at Mohali
Sep 20, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
6th Match, Group B: Cape Cobras v Hurricanes at Hyderabad (Deccan)
Sep 21, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
9th Match, Group B: Hurricanes v Northern D at Raipur
Sep 23, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
10th Match, Group A: KKR v Scorchers at Hyderabad (Deccan)
Sep 24, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days