Australian domestic season 2010-11 August 25, 2010

Split-innings matches head to the country

Cricinfo staff

Split-innings one-day matches will be taken to Townsville, Bunbury and Burnie after Australia's domestic fixture list was released on Wednesday. The season begins with the first match of the new National One-Day Cup between Queensland and Tasmania at the Gabba on October 6, and it will be followed by the opening Sheffield Shield fixture two days later.

Brought in to attract new spectators, the split-innings 45-over format will not be limited to the traditional home grounds. The Bulls will play against South Australia in Townsville in October while Tasmania will face New South Wales in Burnie in December and Western Australia will host the Tigers in Bunbury in February.

"We are excited by the new concepts set to be trialled in interstate cricket this summer and look forward to public comment the split-innings format is set to create," Cricket Australia's chief executive James Sutherland said.

The extended Twenty20 Big Bash, which includes 20 games, will start on December 30 and conclude on February 5. Victoria begin their Sheffield Shield defence at the MCG on October 25 and the final of the tournament is scheduled for March 17-21.

To see the fixture list go here.