Australia news July 11, 2012

New South Wales captain to become selector

ESPNcricinfo staff

New South Wales have followed Australia's lead and appointed their state captain to the selection panel, using the same model recommended by the Argus review. The restructured panel will feature David Freedman as the full-time chairman, along with the coach Anthony Stuart and two part-time selectors, the former Australia batsman Steve Smith and the former New South Wales opener Greg Mail.

The five-man group will be rounded out by the state captain, which will be Michael Clarke when he is available for the Blues, and Steve O'Keefe, who led the side last year, at all other times. The former Test wicketkeeper Brian Taber, who has been a long-term member of the New South Wales selection panel, will step down, along with fellow selector Marshall Rosen.

Mail, who retired as a state player in 2009-10, is a new addition to the panel, and will continue playing for Sydney University in the city's grade competition. Freedman believes that, combined with Mail's experience, will make him a valuable addition to the group.

"Greg is held in the highest regard by everyone in New South Wales cricket," Freedman said. "Over his 72 games for the New South Wales Blues, and his prolific grade cricket performances, Greg has developed an intricate knowledge of the skills and attributes required for success at the first-class level. I am pleased that Greg will continue to play grade cricket as this gives him the best seat in the house to assess our next batch of players."