Australia news July 31, 2013

CA make six changes for Under-19 quadrangular series

ESPNcricinfo staff

Cricket Australia's Youth Selection Panel named a 14-player squad for the Under-19 quadrangular series, which begins in India on September 23, making six changes to the squad that played in the tri-series in Darwin last month.

Right-hand batsman Jaron Morgan, left-hand batsman Kelvin Smith, legspinner Tom Andrews and pacer Ben Ashkenazi have been recalled to the side, while medium-pacer Guy Walker and fast bowler Billy Stanlake's inclusion is subject to their fitness. Joel Logan, Josh Dunning and Jeremy Maher have been placed on standby for the series. Gabe Bell, Alex Gregory, Tom Leaver and Matthew Short, who played in the tri-series against India and New Zealand, have not been included in the squad.

Pacer Cameron Valente, the leading wicket-taker at the 2013 U-19 National Championships, has been retained in the side along with Jake Doran and wicketkeeper Ben McDermott, the top run-getters for Australia in the tri-series.

"This Quad Series in India is part of our preparation for next year's ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup and to ensure that our emerging talent is exposed to international competition and conditions that challenge and build our players technically and mentally," Greg Chappell, CA National Talent Manager, said. "A number of these players have already had a taste of international cricket against top-quality opposition. This year, our U-19s played New Zealand in New Zealand, as well as India in Darwin. Matthew Fotia also worked with Glenn McGrath at his MRF Pace Foundation academy in India."

"We've selected a strong bowling contingent, with Cameron Valente's clever medium pace variations and quality pace bowlers in Matthew Fotia, Ben Ashkenazi, Guy Walker and Billy Stanlake," Chappell added. "India's dry wickets will offer turn for our spinners Tom Andrews, and Riley Ayre, while top-order batsman Kelvin Smith can also provide support with his part-time offspin."

Australia are scheduled to tour Sri Lanka after the quadrangular series

Australia U-19 squad: Sean Willis, Jaron Morgan, Kelvin Smith, Damien Mortimer, Ben McDermott, Jake Doran, Matthew Kelly, Tom Andrews, Cameron Valente, Matthew Fotia, Ben Ashkenazi, Guy Walker, Billy Stanlake, Riley Ayre