October 4, 2000

Law honoured as Bulls launch season

XXXX Queensland Bulls captain Stuart Law tonight joined an exclusive club at the season launch of the 2000-2001 cricket season for the Bulls and Konica Queensland Fire.

Law, who will open his account on Sunday with the Bulls in the Mercantile Mutual Cup clash with the Southern Redbacks at Allan Border Field, was one of seven players inducted into the Queensland Cricket "100" Club at tonight's function at the Gabba.

The seven players - the late Ken Mackay, Sam Trimble, Trevor Hohns, Greg Ritchie, Carl Rackemann, Trevor Barsby and Law - have each played more than 100 first class matches for Queensland and were formally inducted into the Club by Queensland Cricket Chairman Damien Mullins.

Bronzed Queensland caps were struck in honour of each player and presented to Hohns (120 games), Ritchie (106 games), Rackemann (115 games) and Law (117 games). The daughter of Mackay, who played 109 games, accepted the award on her late father's behalf. Trimble (133 games) and Barsby (111 games) were absent on the night.

The ceremony was one of the highlights of the launch, which included the introduction of new Queensland Cricket sponsor, the CHR Group, Queensland's No.1 regional employment services company, and the introduction of the Bulls and Fire squads for the coming season.

The Bulls will train again tomorrow morning (Thursday). The Southern Redbacks will arrive in Brisbane on Friday and will train on Friday at Allan Border Field.

Injured Bulls pace bowler Michael Kasprowicz will attend the Mercantile Mutual Cup competition launch in Sydney tomorrow (Thursday).

Mercantile Mutual Cup XXXX Queensland Bulls v Southern Redbacks, Sunday, Allan Border Field: Stuart Law (c), Matthew Hayden, Jimmy Maher, Martin Love, Clinton Perren, Geoff Foley, Scott Prestwidge, Wade Seccombe, Andy Bichel, Adam Dale, Dale Turner, Ashley Noffke (all 12 to play).

Southern Redbacks: Darren Lehmann (c), Greg Blewett (v-c), Chris Davies, David Fitzgerald, Ryan Harris, Mark Harrity, Ben Johnson, Graham Manou, Peter McIntyre, Paul Rofe, Brett Swain, Jeff Vaughan, Paul Wilson.