Injured Watson to miss Matador Cup final
Shane Watson has been ruled out of Sunday's Matador Cup final after injury his left calf during a training session on Tuesday morning.
Cricket New South Wales said in a statement that Watson was expected to make a full recovery before the Big Bash League, which begins on December 17.
It was also confirmed to be a different injury to the one he sustained during the recent tour of England. Watson announced his retirement from Test cricket at the end of that tour, but he remains part of Australia's plans in the shorter formats.
Watson had struggled for impact early in the Matador Cup but bounced back with 64 against Victoria on Sunday at North Sydney Oval.
New South Wales have finished on top of the Matador Cup table and thus qualified for Sunday's final, in which they will play the winner of Friday's elimination final between Victoria and South Australia.