West Indies in Australia / Features

Australia v West Indies, 2nd Test, Hobart, 3rd day

Third-umpire gaffe

The third-umpire gaffe while ruling on Andrew Symonds's run-out

Play of the Day by Peter English at Hobart

November 19, 2005

Text size: A | A



Andrew Symonds was beaten by a direct hit from Dwayne Smith, but for a brief moment, he thought he had survived © Getty Images
Enlarge

Technology extended Andrew Symonds's batting return to Tests by about two minutes as Steve Davis, the third umpire, pressed the wrong button when ruling on his run-out decision. Recalled for his third Test, Symonds was completing a start-stop-start single when Dwayne Smith's direct hit caught him well short and Aleem Dar favoured caution by calling in Davis. Using a new computer program, Davis accidentally clicked "not out" and Symonds, who knew he was gone and had angrily wandered almost as far as the boundary, ambled back in a better mood. A quick two-way conversation between the on-field umpires ensued before the red "out" signal finally appeared on the big screen and Symonds departed even more frustrated.

Peter English is the Australasian editor of Cricinfo

RSS Feeds: Peter English

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
Peter EnglishClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days