Australia v West Indies 2009-10 February 9, 2010

Australia rest Haddin and Watson

Cricinfo staff

Brad Haddin and Shane Watson are the latest members of Australia's one-day squad to be rested with both men to sit out of the third and fourth ODIs against West Indies. Tim Paine will join the squad for his first international appearances since he broke a finger on Australia's one-day tour of India in October.

Paine made an impressive start to his ODI career after coming in for the injured Haddin during the series in England and he is likely to open the batting with Shaun Marsh. Haddin has not missed an international game since the first Test of the summer and he is the only Australian to have played every match in that time.

The other addition to Australia's 13-man squad is Adam Voges, who was with the group for the limited-overs series against Pakistan but only played the final match. Watson was rested from two games against Pakistan but Australia are keen to be extra cautious with him due to his importance as an opening batsman and bowler in the Test and one-day formats.

"After a busy international summer, and with an upcoming tour of New Zealand in mind, the national selection panel has taken the opportunity to manage the workloads of Brad Haddin and Shane Watson for the next two matches of the Commonwealth Bank Series," the chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said. "Tim Paine and Adam Voges are the players added to the squad.

"Paine thoroughly deserves another chance behind the stumps for Australia in ODI cricket after playing so well in England, the ICC Champions Trophy and India late last year. Voges was unlucky to miss selection for the opening two matches of the Commonwealth Bank Series against the West Indies but now has a chance to press for selection."

Australia hold a 2-0 lead after convincing wins over West Indies in the opening games at the MCG and Adelaide Oval. The squad has been named for Friday's third match in Sydney and Sunday's fourth game in Brisbane and the selectors will reassess ahead of the fifth and final ODI in Melbourne on February 19.

Australia squad Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, Adam Voges, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Clint McKay, Doug Bollinger.