ESPNcricinfo Awards 2010

Laxman and Steyn lead nominations

The closest competition is between Brendon McCullum and Michael Hussey for the Twenty20 batting award

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 14, 2011

Comments: 37 | Text size: A | A

Dale Steyn tests VVS Laxman with a bouncer, South Africa v India, 3rd Test, Cape Town, 5th day, January 6, 2011
ESPNcricinfo Award nominees, VVS Laxman and Dale Steyn, had memorable battles during the previous year © AFP

With match-winning innings in three Tests, VVS Laxman has the most nominations for the ESPNcricinfo Awards 2010, the winners for which will be announced on Monday in Bangalore. Laxman faces competition in the Test batting performance of the year category from Alastair Cook, whose unbeaten 235 in the first Ashes Test at the Gabba launched England's victorious campaign, and Hashim Amla, whose 123 in Kolkata, nearly secured a draw for South Africa.

In reflection of the fierce competition between India and South Africa in Tests, South African bowlers cornered three bowling nominations, with Dale Styen having two. Pakistan were in the news for the wrong reasons for most of 2010, but that they had a wonderful year with the ball is backed up by nominations for Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz.

England's James Anderson, ranked No. 3 among Test bowlers, is giving Steyn tough competition. Anderson destroyed Pakistan in the first Test at Trent Bridge with figures of 6 for 17, after he had taken five wickets in the first innings. Mitchell Johnson's searing spell of 6 for 38 in third Ashes Test at the WACA and Mohammad Asif's 6 for 41 in Sydney are also in the running.

In one-day internationals, both the batting and bowling performance of the year have clear frontrunners. Sachin Tendulkar's 200 not out against South Africa in Gwalior, the first double-century in ODIs, is the favourite, though Abdul Razzaq's 72-ball 109 against South Africa in Abu Dhabi, which helped Pakistan chase 287 with a ball to spare, could spring a surprise. In the bowling category, Umar Gul's match-winning spell of 6 for 42 against England at The Oval is a prime contender. Not too far behind are Ryan Harris' two performances: 5 for 19 in Perth, which helped Australia win an ODI against Pakistan for the first time at the WACA, and 5 for 32 against England at The Oval.

The voting trends were closest in the Twenty20 batting category, with hardly anything separating Brendon McCullum's 116 off 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch and Michael Hussey's 60 off 24 balls against Pakistan in the World Twenty20 semi-final. Among bowlers, the battle is between Shaun Tait and Tim Southee. Tait helped Australia clinch a tight victory against Pakistan at the MCG with 3 for 13 in four overs - the only Australian bowler to concede less than six an over in that match. Southee took New Zealand's second Twenty20 hat-trick as he ripped through Pakistan during a spell of 5 for 18 in four overs in Auckland.

The jury for the ESPNcricinfo awards comprises former cricketers Sanjay Manjrekar, Geoff Boycott, Kepler Wessels, Ramiz Raja, Tony Greig, Martin Crowe and Ian Chappell, as well as Sambit Bal, Andrew Miller, Peter English, Osman Samiuddin and Sharda Ugra from ESPNcricinfo.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (February 15, 2011, 8:53 GMT)

I don't think that Sachin deserved it, he has played well in the tests but not in ODIs.. He cannot get an award for just one innings..

Posted by ejsiddiqui on (February 14, 2011, 16:26 GMT)

The best thing about Abdur Razzaq innings was that it won the match from an "Impossible Situation" whereas Sachin's innings was not less than anyone but was not of a pressure that Razzaq faced.

Posted by   on (February 14, 2011, 16:02 GMT)

how come abdul people dont have cricket knowlege

Posted by stunnerbond27 on (February 14, 2011, 14:24 GMT)

congrats to VVS and Sachin. Game On

Posted by ICCexpert.... on (February 14, 2011, 13:23 GMT)

there should be no argument about the one day batting performance, it has to be Razzaq, it should be a unanimous decision.... scoring 200 runs in 50 became possible now by the advent of T20, we can see a few 200 scores in the coming world cup. Its not a big deal, Syed Anwar almost did it, Dhoni and Tendulkar and Viv Richards, Kapil Dev almost did it too its no big deal....

Posted by david.j.domingo on (February 14, 2011, 13:20 GMT)

You guys are still debating...come on now! Steyn it will be!

Posted by   on (February 14, 2011, 12:55 GMT)

razzaq innings was just a blind hitting. many people hav done this in past and most recently by y.pathan(against nz).but no one in this planet has never ever smelt the taste of 200. it requires endurance dedication and talent. only sachin can and hav done this. he used his bat like a surgeon"s knife to craft a 200, and he did it against sa too.

Posted by   on (February 14, 2011, 12:54 GMT)

Surely VVS,Steyn, Sachin,Gul, Hussey n Southee vl be d winners

Posted by   on (February 14, 2011, 12:51 GMT)

VVS for test bat, Steyn for bowl, Sachin r Abdul Razzaq for ODI bat n Gul for bowl, Hussey for T20 bat n Southee for bowl.

Posted by   on (February 14, 2011, 12:04 GMT)

Why in the world are Asif and Amir being given the honour of a nomination? They have just been convicted ... Wahab Riaz is also under a cloud of suspicion.

While Tendulkar's innings would qualify for a "Record of the year" award, it can hardly compare with impact performances such as those by Razzaq and Angelo.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
About the ESPNcricinfo Awards

The ESPNcricinfo Awards recognise the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the calendar year and across the three international formats. The awards are voted on by an independent jury of former cricketers, commentators, and ESPNcricinfo's senior editors. Shortlists are drawn up by the site and made public at the start of every year, and the jury votes on the shortlisted performances to determine the final winners. Previous winners have included Virender Sehwag (twice), Adam Gilchrist, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days