ODI bowling nominees

Saeed strikes, Mitch monsters

Saeed strikes, Mitch monsters

Seamers, swingers, spinners and out and out speed demons - all in the ODI bowling shortlist
Abhishek Purohit January 9, 2014

Click here for the ODI batting shortlist

Saeed Ajmal
5 for 24 v India

third ODI, Delhi
Ajmal's five-wicket haul was the best performance by a Pakistan spinner in India. He displayed his full range, getting his first three wickets leg-before with different types of deliveries. Suresh Raina was trapped with a flighted one, R Ashwin went back to a quicker ball, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar had no clue about a doosra. Ravindra Jadeja found out how hard it was to hit out against Ajmal, holing out to long-on to give the bowler his fifth.

Nuwan Kulasekara
5 for 22 v Australia

third ODI, Brisbane
High-quality inswing bowling from Kulasekara sent Australia plummeting to 74 all out, the lateness of the movement making him almost unplayable. The deliveries that bowled Michael Clarke and Moises Henriques began about a metre outside off stump, and only began to move when the batsmen were already committed to the stroke. George Bailey offered no stroke first ball to a delivery he believed to be passing safely outside off stump, but it swerved in to strike him plumb in front.

Ravindra Jadeja
5 for 36 v West Indies

Champions Trophy, The Oval
When Jadeja was brought on in this Champions Trophy match, West Indies had marched to 92 for 1 in 17 overs, and Johnson Charles was timing everything he hit. India were staring at a big chase, but Jadeja turned the game. Some spun and some didn't. Most were headed for the stumps, but at different speeds. Five of them got wickets, two lbws, including Charles, and one bowled. West Indies went from 103 for 1 to 182 for 9, and India into the semi-final.

Shahid Afridi
7 for 12 v West Indies

first ODI, Georgetown
This had to be one of the great all-round performances in ODIs. Having taken no wickets in six previous ODIs, Afridi quashed all doubts about his bowling with the second best one-day figures of all time. After pulverising 76 runs off 55 balls, he was brought on only as the sixth bowler, but there was no stopping him. His mix of legspinners, quick sliders, the occasional googly and even the odd offbreak proved too much for West Indies, who went from 41 for 3 to 98 all out.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe
4 for 22 v Sri Lanka

third ODI, Pallekele
Tsotsobe kept a struggling South Africa alive in the series, helping them beat Sri Lanka at home for the first time in close to 20 years. He took three early wickets in a six-over spell in which he extracted bounce and produced seam movement. Tillakaratne Dilshan spooned a catch to cover, Kumar Sangakkara chased one that moved away, and Upul Tharanga, undone by Tsotsobe's bounce, edged to slip. Sri Lanka were 16 for 3, and South Africa were in control for the first time in the series.

Mitchell Johnson
4 for 46 v India

third ODI, Mohali
Australia and India scored 3596 runs in 11 innings over six games in this series. Even in conditions so cruel for bowlers, Johnson roughed up the Indians twice with pace and bounce, prompting Sachin Tendulkar, at his retirement press conference, to predict that the fast bowler would be a factor in the Ashes. In Mohali, Johnson reduced India to 154 for 6. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja fell to short deliveries, while Yuvraj Singh went first ball, fishing at one that left him from back of a length.

Rubel Hossain
6 for 26 v New Zealand

first ODI, Mirpur
Rubel became only the second Bangladeshi, after Mashrafe Mortaza, to take six wickets in an ODI, his hat-trick turning the game on its head. New Zealand needed 86 off 60 with seven wickets remaining when Rubel, having already dismissed Ross Taylor, began his third over. Corey Anderson, who had swung four sixes, missed a slog at a slower one. Brendon McCullum sliced the next delivery to backward point, and James Neesham was strangled down the leg side off the hat-trick ball. Fittingly, Mashrafe caught Grant Elliott to end the game and give Rubel his sixth.

Dale Steyn
6 for 39 v Pakistan

second ODI, Port Elizabeth
Bowling like the poison-tipped spearhead he is, Steyn took six wickets with little support from the other end. He bowled Nasir Jamshed fifth ball with a full one and claimed Mohammad Hafeez for the 15th time in 28 innings with a short one that was nicked behind. Steyn then came back to puncture Pakistan at the end and claim his best ODI figures. South Africa, however, lost by one run.

Click here for the ODI batting shortlist

. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
Comments have now been closed for this article

Posted by karan on (January 14, 2014, 8:04 GMT)

Shahid Afridi`s bowling 7 for 12 was the best from rest.

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 14, 2014, 11:53 GMT)

Shahid Afridi's 7-12 performance was best in 2013

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 14, 2014, 14:31 GMT)

shahid afridi boom boom was best in 2013

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 14, 2014, 15:10 GMT)

Shahid Afridi's 7-12 performance was best in 2013

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 14, 2014, 19:40 GMT)

shahid afridi....boom boom

Posted by israr on (January 15, 2014, 7:09 GMT)

boom boom should be winner

Posted by Rahul on (January 15, 2014, 15:43 GMT)

Dale Steyn against pakistan

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 15, 2014, 16:18 GMT)

I think there is a clear winner, unless no bias. 2nd best bowling figures in the history of ODI cricket.

Posted by Android on (January 16, 2014, 2:24 GMT)

I think Shahid Afridi and after that its Rubel Hossain

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 16, 2014, 2:37 GMT)

100 percent sure the one and only Shahid afridi

About The Awards

The ESPNcricinfo Awards recognise the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the calendar year. They are voted on by an independent jury of former cricketers, commentators, and ESPNcricinfo's senior writers. Previous winners have included Dale Steyn, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

ESPNcricinfo@20 Cricketer of the Generation

A high-powered jury of cricketers, current and past, cricket writers and commentators picks the player of the last 20 years to cap ESPNcricinfo's 20th anniversary celebrations.

Contribution to Cricket award

This award, the winner of which is nominated by Rahul Dravid, recognises significant contributions to cricket in a non-playing role.

Statsguru Awards

Which batsman was the most consistent over the year? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken, or averages, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances. ESPNcricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more.