Bangladesh v Bangladesh A, Bangladesh Cricket Board Cup

Bangladesh A lose despite Naeem ton

ESPNcricinfo staff

September 15, 2011

Text size: A | A

Bangladesh 311 for 9 (Ashraful 83, Tamim 65, Mushfiqur 63, Nafees 50, Mahmudullah 4-75) beat Bangladesh A 234 for 8 in 39 overs (Naeem 101*, Rubel 3-38) by 36 runs (D/L method)

Naeem Islam's unbeaten 101 wasn't enough for Bangladesh A, Bangladesh v Bangladesh A, 3rd match, Bangladesh Cricket Board Cup, September 15, 2011
Naeem Islam's unbeaten 101 wasn't enough to chase down Bangladesh's massive total © BCB

Half-centuries from their top four batsman powered the Bangladesh national side to a massive 311 which proved too much for the A team despite a century from Naeem Islam in a rain-shortened match in Mirpur.

After being sent in, Bangladesh's openers made contrasting fifties, with Tamim Iqbal scoring at nearly a run-a-ball while Shahriar Nafees contributed a more patient effort. Both were dismissed in the space of two overs by the offspin of Mahmudullah but the national side didn't squander the base provided by the openers. Mohammad Ashraful and captain Mushfiqur Rahim both made quick half-centuries as they put on 130 in 18.2 overs. The partnership ensured that despite a glut of wickets towards the end of the innings, Bangladesh posted a total in excess of 300.

Rain then curtailed the chase to a 39-over affair, with the target revised to 271. The A team's reply was hampered by a couple of early strikes by medium-pacer Rubel Hossain. Opener Junaid Siddique (45) and Naeem then steadied the innings with a 66-run stand but their slow scoring pushed the required-rate beyond nine by the 20th over. Naeem continued to fight, and remained unbeaten on 101, but there was little support for him from those who followed and the national side won comfortably.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Khulna Div v Rajshahi Div at Dhaka - Apr 26-28, 2012
Rajshahi Div won by 9 wickets
Khulna Div v Dhaka Metro at Fatullah - Apr 20-24, 2012
Match drawn
Sylhet Div v Rajshahi Div at Dhaka - Apr 20-24, 2012
Rajshahi Div won by 119 runs
Barisal v Dhaka at Dhaka - Feb 29, 2012
Dhaka won by 8 wickets (with 26 balls remaining)
Dhaka v Khulna at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Dhaka won by 9 runs
Barisal v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Barisal won by 8 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days