Dhaka Premier Division 2013

CCS, KCA record wins in rain-affected round

Mohammad Isam

October 5, 2013

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

Farveez Maharoof goes on the offensive during his 52, Nondescripts Cricket Club v Sinhalese Sports Club, Premier Limited Over Tournament Tier A, Final, P Sara Oval, December 17, 2011
File photo: Ferveez Maharoof scored a rapid half-century in Cricket Coaching School's first win © Manoj Ridimahaliyadda

Cricket Coaching School finally got a win under their belt in the Dhaka Premier League. They beat by 45 runs on Saturday, a day after the match began and due to rain interruptions at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra on Friday.

Batting first on Friday, CCS made 213 for 9 in 40 overs, with Farveez Maharoof scoring 57 off 35 balls after having endured four breaks in play due to bad weather.

Maharoof struck six fours and three sixes, having arrived at the crease with his team in usual trouble at 85 for 5. He added 44 for the sixth wicket with Asif Ahmed and another 65 for the seventh wicket with Nazmul Hossain Milon. Khelaghar captain Faisal Hossain took four wickets with his left-arm spin.

In reply, Khelaghar were held to 172 for 7, with Amit Kumar taking three wickets and Asif, two. Faisal's 31 was the highest score of the innings. They are now the only team not to win a single game.

Kalabagan Cricket Academy picked up their third win in the competition, defeating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by six wickets. It was another two-day affair after rain halted play on Friday at the BSKP-3 ground.

Batting first, Dhanmondi made 205 for 8 after the game was reduced to 34 overs a side. Gulbadin Naib blasted an unbeaten 99 off 68 balls with six fours and eight sixes. He was batting on 79 when Talha Jubair came in to bowl the last over. He hammered a four and two sixes, but got only two off the last two deliveries to miss out on a second List A hundred.

But KCA's Hamilton Masakadza upended his effort, with another match-winning effort. The Zimbabwean batsman struck seven sixes and six boundaries in his 93 off 71 balls. He was well supported by Abdul Majid, who was unbeaten on 59.

The match between Brothers Union and Kalabagan Krira Chakra was abandoned at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium. After rain completely scuppered played on Friday, KKC made 148 for 5 in 25 overs after play started at 1:00pm on Saturday.

Brothers Union were set 154 to win under the Duckworth/Lewis method. They were 86 for 2 at the end of the 16th over when a final bout of rain marred the proceedings.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here

RSS Feeds: Mohammad Isam

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (October 7, 2013, 1:40 GMT)

Actually the DPL was supposed to happen long time before (in the rainy seasons :P) but didnt take place because of the other issues. And It's usual to have rain during this time as winter is coming but its still early autumn and we are having too much rain. :|

Posted by M_Rakibul_Islam on (October 6, 2013, 17:28 GMT)

@ TheRisingTeam: BCB isn't stupid. It's not rainy season in South Asia rather Autumn. Severe Rain is unusual in this part of the year.

Posted by   on (October 6, 2013, 8:41 GMT)

Gulbadin Naib is really a good hitter of Cricket ball. He will do well in 2015 world cup in Austerlia

Posted by TheRisingTeam on (October 5, 2013, 14:13 GMT)

Why play Cricket matches in rainy season? stupid BCB.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Mohammad IsamClose
North Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Dhaka - May 9-13, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 213 runs
Cent Z (BD) v North Z (BD) at Savar (3) - May 3-6, 2014
North Z (BD) won by 51 runs
East Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Savar (4) - May 3-5, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 6 wickets
Dhaka Metro v Rajshahi Div at Chittagong - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rajshahi Div won by 4 wickets
Khulna Div v Dhaka Div at Cox's Bazar - Apr 19-22, 2014
Dhaka Div won by 5 wickets
Rangpur Div v Barisal Div at Fatullah (Outer) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rangpur Div won by an innings and 25 runs
Sylhet Div v Chittagong D at Savar (3) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Chittagong D won by 258 runs
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days