Dhaka Premier Division, 2013-14

Gazi Tank loss gives Prime Doleshwar chance at title

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 25, 2013

Text size: A | A

Dawid Malan fell for 13 as Surrey got on top at Lord's, Middlesex v Surrey, County Championship, Division One, Lord's, 2nd day, May, 3, 2013
File photo: Dawid Malan struck eight fours and six sixes during his 123 © Getty Images

A century from Gazi Tank Cricketers' captain Mahmudullah was in vain as the side lost by 54 runs to Mohammedan Sporting Club, squandering a chance to seal their maiden title triumph in the Dhaka Premier Division.

With Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club beating Kalabagan Cricket Academy, the last league round game between Gazi Tank and Prime Doleshwar SC on November 27 is a virtual final as both teams have 20 points from their games so far. The team with the most points at the end of the Super League will win the Dhaka Premier Division title.

Set a target of 269, Gazi Tank were struggling at 7 for 3 in the fourth over, before Mahmudullah led the side's recovery. He was involved in key partnerships with opener Imrul Kayes, Ryan Ten Doeschate and Ashar Zaidi for the fourth, fifth and sixth wickets, respectively, before falling a 125-ball 106. Mahmudullah's second List A hundred included 12 fours and two sixes. His wicket in the 41st over, however, ended Gazi Tank's resistance and they folded in the 42nd over for 214.

Earlier, a 109-run third wicket stand between Upul Tharanga and Samit Patel and a cameo from Mashrafe Mortaza helped Mohammedan SC post 268 for 6. Tharanga and Patel came together at the fall of Shamsur Rahman's wicket in the 19th over and the pair batted for the next 20 overs, Tharanga scored 62 off 90 balls while Samit Patel was out for 76 off 90 balls. Mortaza, who came in to bat in the 47th over, blasted a 15-ball 37 with six fours and a six before his fall in the last over.

Dawid Malan's fourth List A hundred helped Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club go level on points with Gazi Tank Cricketers in the Super League table, after securing a 15-run win over Kalabagan Cricket Academy in Fatullah.

Malan's 120-ball 123 included eight fours and six sixes, as he helped Prime DSC overcome a shaky start in which their openers, as well as Rony Talukder were all dismissed within 10 overs, leaving the team at 42 for 3. Malan was involved in two big partnerships - an 80-run stand for the fourth wicket with Mominul Haque and a sixth-wicket partnership of 104 runs with Sabbir Rahman - that eventually propelled the team to 287 for 7 in their 50 overs.

KCA began poorly with the openers Avishek Mitra and Zakaria Masud both departing after 4.1 overs. They were precariously placed at 7 for 2, but Hamilton Masakadza and Marshall Ayub led the recovery, adding 123 runs in 21.2 overs for the third wicket. KCA were stable at 130 for 2, but Masakadza fell for a run-a-ball 69 in the 26th over, while Ayub lost his wicket for 67 in the 33rd. In between those two dismissals, Abdul Mazid had also been run-out for one to leave KCA at 159 for 5. Sharifullah's late surge - a 55-ball 72 - was not enough for KCA as Prime DSC restricted them to 272 for 8.

Mushfiqur Rahim led Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club's charge once again, scoring a brisk 82 before Nahidul Islam and Elton Chigumbura took the side to a narrow, two-wicket win over Prime Bank Cricket Club.

Chasing a target of 257, Dhanmondi Club were struggling at 73 for 4, before Mushfiqur stepped up and added 107 runs with Tanveer Haider for the fifth wicket. The pair, however, were dismissed in successive overs, Mushfiqur falling for 82 off 74 balls, with the score at 180 for 6. However, Nahidul and Chigumbura added 61 in nearly 10 overs to take the side closer to the target. Chigumbura remained unbeaten on 28 off 35 balls as Dhanmondi edged to victory with three balls to spare.

Earlier, half-centuries from Ravi Bopara and Taibur Rahman helped Prime Bank reach 256 for 6 after the side were struggling at 64 for 3. Bopara and Taibur added 114 runs for the fourth wicket and Taibur finished unbeaten on 89 off 103 balls with seven fours and two sixes.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
North Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Dhaka - May 9-13, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 213 runs
Cent Z (BD) v North Z (BD) at Savar (3) - May 3-6, 2014
North Z (BD) won by 51 runs
East Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Savar (4) - May 3-5, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 6 wickets
Dhaka Metro v Rajshahi Div at Chittagong - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rajshahi Div won by 4 wickets
Khulna Div v Dhaka Div at Cox's Bazar - Apr 19-22, 2014
Dhaka Div won by 5 wickets
Rangpur Div v Barisal Div at Fatullah (Outer) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rangpur Div won by an innings and 25 runs
Sylhet Div v Chittagong D at Savar (3) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Chittagong D won by 258 runs
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days