National Cricket League 2013-14 February 9, 2014

Rajshahi open with big win against Barisal

ESPNcricinfo staff

Rajshahi Division blew away Barisal Division by 131 runs to win their opening match of the tournament. Junaid Siddique's second innings 83 gave Barisal a tough target of 370 in the second innings, and they were eventually bowled out for 238.

Pace bowler Delwar Hossain took four wickets while Shafiul Islam picked up three as Rajshahi didn't let the Barisal top and middle order to settle down. Rajshahi had earlier declared their second innings on 270 for 9, after taking a 99-run first innings lead.

When Rajshahi were put in to bat, fifties from Hamidul Isam (83) and Taijul Islam took them to 330 and Barisal were bowled out for 231 in the first innings, Muktar Ali picking up four wickets and Delwar taking three.

Defending champions Khulna Division and Rangpur Division drew their match in Bogra. Batting first, Khulna scored 408 with Tushar Imran making 129, and fifties from Nazmus Sadat, captain Ziaur Rahman and Nizamuddin.

Rangpur fell behind by 125 runs after they were bowled out for 283. Nahidul Islam and Ziaur took three wickets each while Saymon Ahmed and Ahmadul Kabir made half-centuries.

Khulna added 256 runs to their lead, with more fifties from Soumya Sarkar, Tushar and Dolar Mahmud while Sohrawadi Shuvo took five wickets. Set 382 to win on the final day, Rangpur batted safely to end their second innings on 266 for four with Naeem Islam scoring an unbeaten 104.

At the BKSP-3 ground, Dhaka Metropolis and Sylhet Division drew their game too.

Dhaka took a 31-run first innings lead after they made 315 in the first innings and Sylhet were bowled out for 284, with a hundred from Alok Kapali. Dhaka played out 99 overs in the second innings, scoring 293 for 7 with Asif Ahmed scoring an unbeaten hundred. It left little time for Sylhet, as they ended their second innings on 72 for 1.