Bangladesh Cricket League final, Dhaka, 4th day

North Zone lose three in 573 chase

ESPNcricinfo staff

May 12, 2014

Text size: A | A

BCB NCA captain Mohammad Mithun hits through the covers, Academy Cup, Bangladesh Cricket Board National Cricket Academy v South African National Cricket Academy, 1st Twenty20, Mirpur, May 5, 2011
File photo: Mithun Ali struck 16 fours and five sixes during his 126 © BCB

North Zone have a lot left to do on the fifth day of the BCL final as they require another 319 runs to win, while South Zone have to take seven wickets to clinch the title.

North Zone were 254 for 3 at the end of the fourth day, scoring at almost four for 63 overs. They were set 573 to win after South Zone were bowled out for 536 in their second innings.

Farhad Hossain, unbeaten on 85, added 42 runs for the second wicket with Junaid Siddique, and shared an unbroken 128-run fourth-wicket partnership with the captain Nasir Hossain.

Nasir(67 not out) was circumspect for much of his innings, but struck his Bangladesh team-mate Abdur Razzak for four fours in the last session, with two coming in the last over of the day. Farhad attacked the spinners, hitting all nine of his fours against them.

The North Zone openers Maisuqur Rahman and Junaid added 57 for the first wicket in just 10.4 overs as they capitalised on the poor bowling early in the innings. But Razzak ended the partnership by removing Maisuqur for 32. Junaid struck a half-century before being dismissed by Shuvagata Hom in the 24th over.

Earlier in the day, South Zone lost their way as they lost seven wickets for 98 runs. Mithun Ali made 126 off 183 balls but was caught behind off Subashis Roy, who picked up three wickets. Razzak hammered two sixes and three fours in his 24-ball 33 which propelled South Zone to 536.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
North Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Dhaka - May 9-13, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 213 runs
Cent Z (BD) v North Z (BD) at Savar (3) - May 3-6, 2014
North Z (BD) won by 51 runs
East Z (BD) v South Z (BD) at Savar (4) - May 3-5, 2014
South Z (BD) won by 6 wickets
Dhaka Metro v Rajshahi Div at Chittagong - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rajshahi Div won by 4 wickets
Khulna Div v Dhaka Div at Cox's Bazar - Apr 19-22, 2014
Dhaka Div won by 5 wickets
Rangpur Div v Barisal Div at Fatullah (Outer) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Rangpur Div won by an innings and 25 runs
Sylhet Div v Chittagong D at Savar (3) - Apr 19-22, 2014
Chittagong D won by 258 runs
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days