Chittagong Kings v Sylhet Royals, BPL, Mirpur

Mahmudullah, Ziaur star in Chittagong win

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 15, 2012

Text size: A | A

Chittagong Kings 154 for 3 (Mahmudullah 56*, Ziaur 48*) beat Sylhet Royals 152 for 4 (Akmal 54, Trego 51) by seven wickets

Peter Trego pulls during his fifty, Chittagong Kings v Sylhet Royals, Bangladesh Premier League, Mirpur, February 15, 2012
Peter Trego's effort was in vain © BPL T20

An unbeaten century stand between Mahmudullah and Ziaur Rahman helped Chittagong Kings chase down 153 against Sylhet Royals in Mirpur. The win puts Chittagong at the top of the points table, while it was the fourth loss in four games for Sylhet.

Sylhet had chosen to bat and were jolted early, with opener Imrul Kayes falling for a duck. That wicket brought captain Peter Trego to the crease and he put on a solid partnership with Kamran Akmal. The pair added 83 in ten overs, but could not provide an adequate late surge and fell soon after crossing their fifties. That meant Sylhet finished on 152 for 4.

After the Powerplay in the chase, Sylhet looked good to register maiden points in the competition, picking up three wickets and keeping Chittagong to 45 in 6.1 overs. However, that was a good as it got for Sylhet. From there on captain Mahmudullah and Ziaur flayed the bowling around, adding 109 at almost ten an over. They smacked six sixes between them to take Chittagong home in the 18th over. Mahmudullah finished on 56 not out and was named Man of the Match.

Sylhet, meanwhile, will replace fast bowler Rubel Hossain with Abul Hossain in their squad. Rubel has been ruled out of the BPL 2012 with a shoulder injury.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Barisal v Dhaka at Dhaka - Feb 29, 2012
Dhaka won by 8 wickets (with 26 balls remaining)
Dhaka v Khulna at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Dhaka won by 9 runs
Barisal v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Barisal won by 8 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
Khulna v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Khulna won by 69 runs
Dhaka v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Rajshahi won by 3 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days