Chittagong Kings v Rangpur Riders, BPL 2013, Mirpur February 9, 2013

Rangpur pull off last-ball win

Rangpur Riders 161 for 5 (Imrul 48, Borgas 48, Tait 2-25) beat Chittagong Kings 160 for 6 (ten Doeschate 50, Nasir 2-25) by five wickets

Rangpur Riders climbed to fifth place with a last-ball win over Chittagong Kings, who lost their first game after four consecutive wins. Kevin O'Brien and Danza Hyatt blasted the 16 needed off the final over bowled by Rubel Hossain.

After Naeem Islam's misfield off the first ball conceded a boundary, O'Brien hit another boundary, to point, played out a dot ball before taking a single to midwicket. Hyatt smashed a straight six before scampering a leg-bye off the final ball to seal the win. The pair added an unbeaten 33 for the sixth wicket off just 14 balls as Rangpur remained in contention of a successful chase throughout their innings. Imrul Kayes and Cameron Borgas made 48 each and added 96 for the third wicket in quick time. Kayes struck three fours and three sixes in his 40-ball knock while Borgas scored his runs in 41 balls with three fours and two sixes.

Shaun Tait and Kevon Cooper took two wickets each, but Rubel's poor final over cost them the match. His lack of control at the death overs has been a recurring theme in his career.

Earlier, Chittagong posted 160 for 6 thanks to Ryan ten Doeschate's good form, the Netherlands batsman this time scoring 50 off 32 balls with a couple of sixes and fours. Ariful Haque hammered an unbeaten 33 off 20 balls with four fours and a six to prop up the total.

For Rangpur, Abdur Razzak and Nasir Hossain took two wickets each.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on February 9, 2013, 17:57 GMT

    Thanks for the answer abcdef_12345. I am still surprised though, surely he had at least 1 other option?

    I mean I have seen BD losing matches thanks to some of his overs in international format, and now this:S.

  • Syed on February 9, 2013, 17:41 GMT

    Never give a Bangladeshi FAST BOWLER the final over in a t20 including Mashrafee... they are useless and toothless. Rubel is the worst of the lot, remember the t20 against WI in last year? Samuels took like 30 runs off him... that was the reason why we lost!

  • State drive on February 9, 2013, 17:16 GMT

    Rubel given 19 runs in over against Srilanka in a tri nation series final where Mithia Muralitharan is the who gets this runs. He also gives 29 in an over against WI in recent t20 match. If does he does not give those runs Bd may win the match. Jacob Oram should be in the team in regular basis.

  • mohammad on February 9, 2013, 16:49 GMT

    Ahnaf Bin Hasan, Captain is Brendan Taylor who does not know much about him and they did not have any other pace option.

  • Dummy4 on February 9, 2013, 14:27 GMT

    well played by RR BUT nasir need to play in top order means after opener

  • Dummy4 on February 9, 2013, 14:25 GMT

    Congrats Rangpur, didn't see the match, but sounds like it was very tight indeed.

    Btw, can any1 please tell me what is the justification for letting rubel hossain bowl the final over? This isn't the first time his team lost because of his bowling. Granted this was T20, but still enlighten me please.

  • Shahin on February 9, 2013, 14:23 GMT

    What was the match!!! final drama in final ball. I really enjoyed that match.

  • No featured comments at the moment.